Can I use Tivo with standard cable?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by matt2773, Apr 30, 2007.

1. matt2773

matt2773 New Member

Apr 30, 2007

Advertisements

I was looking to purchase a Tivo to replace my broken vcr. Does Tivo work just like a vcr but without tapes? Also, I dont have digital cable, can Tivo be used with standard Comcast cable. Also, I dont want the prgramming guide that you have to subscribe to, because I dont record that much, can i set the programming myself, and will the Tivo record without this subscription. I am new to researching these products, any help I could receive world be greatly appreciated.

2. gastrof

gastrof Hubcaps r in fashion

Oct 31, 2003
    Potato and pen.
    TiVos have TV tuners in them.

Series 1 and 2 had cable-ready analog tuners that could also get over-the-air channels. They can also work with cable boxes and satellite boxes.

Series 2 Dual Tuner machines can only work with analog cable, but the second tuner can also take the input from a cable box, digital or analog. (Or with a satellite box, but only on the one tuner.)

Early TiVos (Series 1s), if you can find one on eBay, will work without subscribing to the TiVo service.

Toshiba and Pioneer TiVos with DVD drives come with a low-level, free version of the TiVo service called "TiVo Basic". You can also subscribe to get full features.

Series 3 TiVos can receive over the air analog, over the air digital, cable analog, and (with cable cards) digital cable. They don't work with cable boxes or satellite boxes.

Series 2 and 3 TiVos require your subscribing, or the TiVo is unable to record and store programs. (It's usually said that without service, they're "a giant paper weight".)

3. atmuscarella

atmuscarella Well-Known Member

Oct 11, 2005
    Rochester NY
    1. All stand alone TiVos work just fine with basic analog cable
    2. All current (new) TiVos require a subscription and do not work at all without the subscription.