Can I run guided Setup on Unsubbed Series 1??

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by chriso_it, Oct 13, 2007.

1. chriso_it

chriso_it New Member

Oct 13, 2007
    I am new to Tivo as I just purchased my first unit this week. My hope is to use the Sony SVR-2000 unsubbed, just to record by date/time/channel. My problem is that the existing channel lineup is for a different state and I would like to update. Can I run the guided setup to just get the channel lineup (ex. ESPN=31) for my area? Will this cause any problems or prevent me from using it unsubbed? Any assistance is appreciated. Also, I searched for a couple of hours and could not find an answer to this.

SVR-2000 (30 hour)
    SW Version: 3.0-01-1-010
    Tivo Account State: 3: Account in Good Standing
    Manufactured Date: Nov 2001

Thank you,
    Chris

2. gastrof

gastrof Hubcaps r in fashion

Oct 31, 2003
    Potato and pen.
    You can't use the machine the way it is now, so go ahead and do it.

Most Series 1 machines can be used unsubbed, and if yours isn't one of them, you won't be able to use it at all (except for tuning stations and pausing live TV), so connecting to TiVo won't hurt you. (And TiVos NEED to regularly call in , even if only to fix "clock drift".)

TiVo still allows unsubbed and working Series 1s to call in and get their clocks set, get local channel lineups, etc.

3. mick66

mick66 Dirty Burger

Oct 15, 2004
    The 'verse
    If you can set up a manual recording now, even if the channel numbers don't match, there's no reason to think that it won't work after rerunning guided setup.

4. gastrof

Oct 31, 2003
    Potato and pen.
    By the way...

The part about
    Tivo Account State: 3: Account in Good Standing
    concerns me just a bit.

Sounds to me like the machine may have been subbed.