Bought New Router, can't connect, N18 Error Msg

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by eastmeon, Aug 7, 2011.

1. Aug 7, 2011 #1 of 18
    eastmeon

eastmeon New Member

Feb 16, 2010
    Hello - any assistance is greatly appreciated.

My TIVO Premiere was ethernet connected to my Belkin G Wireless router and worked just fine. I chgd to a Belkin N150 Wireless router BUT still kept the TIVO connected with ethernet, now the TIVO fails to connect to the Belkin to update - N18 is the error msg. I chgd it back to the old G router and of course, the TIVO updated just fine. So my basic knowledge tells me for whatever reason presently, the TIVO & the new N router do not communicate to each other & that something needs to be adjusted on the router.

I called TIVO - they told me to unplug the TIVO and then plug it back in to try to reset it, that didn't work. I have tried calling Belkin but outsourcing does create communication issues.

I am a novice with this sort of thing so any help in simple terms to walk me thru a fix is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much in advance.

2. Aug 7, 2011 #2 of 18
    lillevig

lillevig Cold in East Iowa

Dec 6, 2010
    Marion, Iowa
    If you are doing wireless to the Tivo then you need to make sure that the Tivo is correctly set for the encryption type and password generated by the router. It is also possible that the new router is set to "N-only" instead of "Mixed mode" which would allow either G or N communication. That would be a problem if your wireless receiver connected to the Tivo is a G device.

3. Aug 7, 2011 #3 of 18
    lpwcomp

lpwcomp Well-Known Member

May 6, 2002
    John's...
    Since you stated that you were connected by Ethernet, I assume that means "wired Ethernet", so there are a few possibilities.

Is anything else connected to the new router able to access the internet? In that case, the switch port to which the TiVo is connected might be bad.

Does the new router have a firewall? If so, try disabling it.