Bolt with Spectrum

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by Mjm3143, Oct 20, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Mjm3143

Mjm3143 New Member

Oct 19, 2018

Advertisements

Hi, I'm new to this (dumb questions warning).

Gotta quit AT&T/direct mostly cuz of internet.

Spec doesn't have whole house dvr. Deal killer.

Can I get bolt/minis and be equal? I'm guessing there are pros/cons and would appreciate help understanding.

I've read a few threads and don't yet understand all the terminology and acronyms.

I've read something about tuning adapters, for example but don't know how to tell if they will affect me.

Thanks!

2. austinsho

austinsho A repeated victim of Time Warner DBA Spectrum

Oct 21, 2001
    Austin Texas
    Yes, when Spectrum took over Time Warner they dropped the whole home system and insisted in installing their inferior 210 box. I too am looking to get Tivo, but just a single receiver. I'd like to know if there have been any issues using the cablecard from Spectrum (Charter) with Tivo.

3. sharkster

sharkster Well-Known Member TCF Club

Jul 3, 2004
    NV
    I've had Charter, now called Spectrum, for decades and haven't had CC problems. You also need a TA, at least for many (probably mostly Premium Cable) channels.

4. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    I too have had Charter/Spectrum for decades, cable card only for about the last 10 years. Yes, you'll probably need a free tuning adapter. Not a big deal. Just plug it in. However, it can be a bumpy ride for some. In that time I've done at least a dozen cable card activations. Depending on who is on the other end of the phone, it could take 5 minutes or several weeks to get a Tivo working. But no matter how much they try to sabotage you, cable card is still the law of the land, and they will eventually get it working as long as you are persistent.