Bolt vs Mini

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by cyxodus, Feb 23, 2019.

1. cyxodus

cyxodus New Member

Feb 22, 2019

Advertisements

Being I'm new to TiVo, I have a few questions.

Will I get live TV with a Mini? Can it link up to my Bolt and see my recordings? My parents live in a spare bedroom and they want to drop their cable box and get a TiVo also.

Should I skip buying them a Mini and just activate my second Bolt instead?

2. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    Yes and yes.

3. cyxodus

cyxodus New Member

Feb 22, 2019
    I updated my post while you were typing, so you may not have seen the rest of my questions.

4. Mikeguy

Mikeguy Well-Known Member

Jul 28, 2005
    A few other considerations:

By using the Mini, you save on the cost of a subscription for a 2nd Bolt. However, by using the Mini, your parents will see what you have on your Bolt--you might not want that--and everyone will be sharing the storage space on the Bolt; in using a 2nd Bolt, you and your parents each would have your own, distinct storage space, as well as the increased total amount of storage space. Likewise increased with a 2nd Bolt over the use of a Mini: the total number of tuners and shows that can be recorded at a given time.

A final consideration point: the ease, or not, of the connectivity between the Bolt and a Mini.

5. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015

Advertisements

What Mike said.

I'm cheap, so I would never pay the subscription on one Bolt, much less two. So in both my parent's house and my own house, each has a single lifetime main Tivo and several Minis which are subscription-free.

If you want to maintain totally separate recordings or need more recording space or tuners and don't mind the additional cost, then go for the Bolt.

6. Mikeguy

Jul 28, 2005