Bolt Blurry Picture

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by wguyette, May 21, 2018.

1. wguyette

wguyette New Member

Aug 23, 2009

Advertisements

Hooked up Bolt last week. TWC-Spectrum. M Cable Card and Tuning Adapter. Picture is unacceptably blurry, especially when compared to crystal clear picture from Spectrum Box.

Don't think TiVo support knows what they are talking about. Claimed S/N was too high. Hmm I'm an engineer and have never heard of a high S/N ratio causing problems-that is usually a good thing. Anyway, at their recommendation, I placed a 6 Db attenuator in the cable line going to the TiVo. Brough the S/N to within TiVo "specs", dropped signal to 72% from 93%. No improvement in picture.

I'm thinking it's the TiVo. Any suggestions or comments?

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    A signal of 90% is what AGC strives to achieve. But that has nothing to do with poor PQ. If it doesn't change by switching the HDMI port on your TV (assuming no AVR), then given an apples to apples comparison, something is bad. Sorry I can't be more specific.

Same resolution being sent?

In Settings, Diagnostics, each tuner's information is displayed. If the VID is MPEG-2, I give up.

Last edited: May 21, 2018
  3. wguyette

wguyette New Member

Aug 23, 2009
    Problem solved!! Beautiful picture now with TiVo bolt.

Turns out that TWC-Spectrum is just starting to roll out tuning adapters for switched digital channels in my area-Bowling Green, KY. Service technicians will not start training on the tuning adapters for about 2 weeks. They won't be sending any switched digital channel information for about 2 weeks. Without these signals the tuning adapter will not function properly.