at long last, moving over to m.2 SSD to replace the DVR-810 IDE HDD

Discussion in 'DVD TiVo Units (Archive)' started by jwillis84, Oct 31, 2020.

1. jwillis84

jwillis84 New Member

Dec 30, 2018

Advertisements

Oct 8, 2020 my Pioneer DVR-810H IDE HDD died

I have been making backups since I purchased it with the Lifetime, but the hard drive was an old Maxtor which is no longer made.

I gave it some thought to switching over to a SATA drive but the costs of a smallish 250 GB m.2 caught my attention.

I studied up on the difference between Garbage collection and TRIM, Garbage collection basically runs in the m.2 itself and simply takes care of re-writing Blocks in the SSD with no help from any OS. TRIM takes it a level deeper and frees up pages, so whole Blocks aren't re-written that don't need to be, helping the SSD to last longer.

Wear leveling is automatic.. depending on the controller your m.2 is made with.. I believe most have internal wear leveling now.. at least the ones I'm using do.

The way a Tivo works, TRIM has nothing to offer with regards to adding lifespan to an SSD, unlike a busy laptop. For a busy laptop an SSD can last anywhere from 3 to 10 years.. but the lifespan can always be accessed by reading the counter in the SSD to get a concrete answer.. unlike an older HDD which could fail quickly or last a really long time.

So I plan to read the SSD lifespan left after each SSD backup.. DVDbars and Wmfs still work with SSDs great. In fact they work over USB-c so they are "Really" fast in a m.2 dock connected to my PC.

Soo.. long winded explaination of "turning" the page on upgrading my DVR-810H to an m.2 SSD connected to the IDE bus.

I found some really nifty aircraft aluminum m.2 sockets which plug into the IDE bus and seem to work perfectly with the Tivo.

So far not much to report, but that it works.. and the Tivo internal heat sensor runs at 39C, which is about 4 degrees cooler than it did when the Maxtor was running in it.