Are cable cards swappable between Tivos?

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by spammsmcghee, May 7, 2010.

1. May 7, 2010 #1 of 11
    spammsmcghee

spammsmcghee New Member

Feb 19, 2010

Advertisements

I have a TivoHD that I've been using for a couple months. It has an activated cable card installed. I just got a Tivo Premiere, and I want to put it in the living room in place of the HD, and move the HD to the bedroom. Can I remove the cable card from the HD and install it into the Premiere, and have it continue working just as the HD was? I know I will have to get another cable card and have an installer come out, but it is the weekend now. So I won't be able to get anyone out for a few days. I'd rather start using the Premiere now if I can, and have the installer come out to put a new card in the HD. Will this work?

2. May 7, 2010 #2 of 11
    KungFuCow

KungFuCow Thread Killer

May 6, 2004
    You'll have to call in and have the card paired with your Premiere but other than that, you shouldnt have any problems.

3. May 7, 2010 #3 of 11
    aaronwt

aaronwt UHD Addict

Jan 31, 2002
    Northern...
    It depends on whether the cable card is married to the box. I have FiOS and the cards are not married. I can move my cards between boxes as many times as I want with no issues.

4. May 7, 2010 #4 of 11
    b_scott

b_scott TiVo Fan

Nov 27, 2006
    chicago, il
    with Comcast you'll probably have an issue. The Host ID changes and Comcast doesn't like that. Takes a call to them or a truck roll. Half the time they say they can't do it and have to give you a new card (if you're upgrading). This is what happened to me this time, on my fourth box.

5. May 7, 2010 #5 of 11
    spammsmcghee

spammsmcghee New Member

Feb 19, 2010

Advertisements

I do have Comcast (unfortunately), so I guess I'll leave it alone. I can hang with the "old one" for a few days. I just hope they send somebody that knows what they're doing. Went through 3 idiots the first time.