Apple Airport

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by cherylzyx, May 6, 2004.

1. May 6, 2004 #1 of 19
    cherylzyx

cherylzyx happy to be here :)

Jan 18, 2004
    Tulsa, OK
    Before anyone gets upset with me, let me just say I have TRIED to find an answer on my own but I'm just getting more confused. I have a TiVo series 2 that I have been using for 4 months. I've decided to get rid of my home phone and get cable internet. I have an iBook with an Airport.

I know nothing, and I mean nothing about all of this tech stuff. Well, that's not true exactly - I do know what a USB port looks like, but that is pretty much the extent of my knowledge. Reading all of these posts about setting up a home network and configuring the IP DHSC, LMNOP settings is confusing me.

Can anyone tell me please, in 4th grade English, how I can get TiVo to use my Apple Airport with cable internet to do its updates?

Right now I am using dial-up internet and my cable company assured me I can use the Airport with their cable connection to connect to the internet with my iBook. Surely it can't be that hard to also get TiVo to talk to the Airport and share that connection.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

2. May 6, 2004 #2 of 19
    bedelman

bedelman Call me Bob

Feb 26, 2001
    Crystal...
    You need to get one of the supported wireless USB adapters found at http://www.tivo.com/adapters

Which Airport Base Station do you have? The original gray one or the later white ones. If you have a white one, do you know which one you have (there's one with a modem built-in and one without).

Do you know if you have any security features enabled on your Airport Base Station?

3. May 7, 2004 #3 of 19
    jlb.x

jlb.x Active Member

Apr 8, 2003
    Rockville, MD
    For a second there, I actually thought that there might have been some new acronyms out there that I hadn't yet heard... :p