Anyone else have this MRS issue?

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by larrs, Feb 9, 2012.

1. larrs

larrs Movie Fan-Addict

May 2, 2005
    DFW
    My wife was marveling at the MRS option on our Premieres tonight and decided to watch a show in our bedroom from our main family room premiere. However, it took several seconds to start and then gave a message that the tivo wass not able to record this program because there was no video signal on the channel and we may have been trying to record a channel we do not receive. Of course we weren't "recording" and we do receive the channel.

We tried another program and it worked fine. Afterwards, I tried the first show again and got the same message. I then selected "transfer" instead of play and it worked fine.

So, I started playing around and found a replicatable issue: this happens on every single program that was originally transferred "to" that main tivo from another tivo in the house and does not happen on any program originally recorded on that tivo. It seems that MRS may only work on a program that is native to the DVR you are trying to stream from, at least with content originally recorded on a Series 3 unit (both S3 and HD as I have tried both). I have yet to verify with a program transferred from another premiere.

Anyone else find this issue also?

2. mdterp20

mdterp20 New Member

Mar 4, 2011
    I have three premieres and was able to transfer a show from my bedroom premiere to my basement premiere then I was able to stream it to my family room premiere with no issues.

3. larrs

larrs Movie Fan-Addict

May 2, 2005
    DFW
    I'll test on my premieres tomorrow. All the shows I had issues on were originally on our series 3s.

4. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    It might have something to do with the fact that the S3 platform Tivos use the Program Stream (PS) format for recordings and the Premieres use the newer Transport Stream (TS) format.