Am I Missing Something? - Using Guide To Search

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by boulderskies, Jan 22, 2017.

1. boulderskies

boulderskies Member

Aug 23, 2013

Advertisements

I'm a bit new at this so please forgive me. But I've run across such a gap in the user experience of TiVO, that I keep thinking it must be me.

Say you simply want to watch TV and you want to search channels using the Guide. Cool, no problem. So, I go to Guide, hit Enter and type in key words or whatever. If I find something, how the hell do I go to that channel without typing in the channel digits?

For example, say I want to go to the Weather Channel and unlike all avid TV watchers everywhere, I have no idea what channel its on (this is true). From TiVO Central (or whatever its called), I select Guide on my remote, hit Enter on my remote and type in "Wea." Weather Channel is a choice on the right side. Unfortunately I cant select it directly. I can do a whole lot of other BS, but I cant actually watch it without entering the channel numbers.

Am I missing something?

Thanks for any help...
    Scott

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    I wish I knew what you were missing. When I hit Guide, then Enter (that's on the bottom of the remote), and enter WEATHER C I have TWC on the right side. I move there and hit Select and it tunes the channel. I never use channel numbers unless I want to override my channel selections in the Channel List. A better example for me would be MSNBC, since I only need to hit MS to have it show as an option.