Advanced Network Toubleshooting Needed

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by drchelsealynn, Jan 9, 2006.

1. drchelsealynn

drchelsealynn New Member

Jan 9, 2006

Advertisements

Alright folks, I've tried desprately to find the info I need on the 'net and I'm coming up woefully short.

The background:
    I'm a college student. I live in a dorm with a PBX phone system, so I can't use it to dial out. I have a brand new Series2 box and a D-Link DUB-E100 network card to connect it to our campus network, and thus to the outside world.

I've been using the ,#401 jimmy to get it to use the network connection for guided setup and it seems to be using the card alright, because I don't get any errors initially.

Here's where the problem comes in. When connecting, it goes through "connecting" and "negotiating" just fine. When it starts "configuring" I get the error "Failed while configuring" and then the option to retry or change my dialing options. Tried multiple times, same result. I tried doing the "test connection" and got the same result there too.

I reset the box using the "configure as demo model" trick. No dice.

I know the network card works, I know the jack works. Same with both USB ports.

I tried downloading the PC software to connect to the box; the software presents my tivo as an option in the preferences pane for "Which tivos can connect to this machine" but when I try to check the tivo now playing list, I get an "unable to locate" error. Since I'm stuck in the guided set-up, I'm not too suprised by this, but it might be useful to know.

I contacted TiVo service and they suggested I contact our IT guys and make sure all the necessary ports are open. I did so, and they say that they "don't block any ports," as long as the connection is being initiated from within the network (which i'm assuming is the case.) There is a firewall, but he says it "shouldn't be blocking it".