About to pick up a Tivo HD...question...

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by gulbane, Feb 4, 2010.

1. Feb 4, 2010 #1 of 10
    gulbane

gulbane New Member

Sep 25, 2005

Advertisements

I had the original TIVO for many, many years and ended up switching to Cablevision's crappy HD Cable box about a year ago. After going to a friends house and remembering how awesome Tivo was, I'm running out today to pick up Tivo again!

Anyway, I currently have the Cablevision HD Cablebox and a host of premium channels. I understand that the Tivo HD accepts cablecards (which I have no knowledge of other than knowing they can replace my cablebox).

Questions:

1) Even though I would be paying the TIVO service AND the Cablevision rental - I can still use both together and not use a cable card, correct? The way we did back in the old days prior to Cablecards....

2) Can you transfer a HD recorded program to your PC? I know I use to be able to do this with my old SD Tivo - and I just want to confirm that it works with the HD recorded programs as well.

I have read that alot of folks have issues with either the "tuning adapter" or the Cablecard...and the wife would be nastier than normal should some of her "shows" get messed up and certain channels have periodic issues.

Thanks all!

2. Feb 4, 2010 #2 of 10
    pdonoghu

pdonoghu Member

Mar 5, 2003
    Upper...
    1) No. Series 3 models, which includes the HD, do not work with set top boxes at all. You need a multi stream card, or 2 single stream cards. You can ditch the cable box and save on the rental, or keep it on a separate input on the TV for on demand or to watch a 3rd channel if you want. Cable cards are cheaper than a box rental, and work fine.

2) Cablevision has moved the HBO HD channels, and some others, to SDV. If you want HBO channels in the 800 range, you need a tuning adapter. Mine reboots occasionally, hanging the Tivo, but it is not that common. A TA is free, at least for now.

3. Feb 4, 2010 #3 of 10