about alt epg

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by jonmon, Jun 25, 2011.

1. jonmon

jonmon New Member

Jan 19, 2010
    Hi there:)
    network service is down so I am going onto the alt. epg. But I have a some questions. I am going to have a new drive put in and I am going to send the TiVo of to get it done. I think I will send it of to TiVo Central as they have a contact phone number. But is TiVo central and TiVo land doing a different alt. epg or are they putting the same software on the drive for the alt. epg? Also is TiVo central any good who is best TiVo Central or TiVo land, or are they both OK? Has anyone had bad experience with these companies? Also does anyone know the contact telphone number for TiVo land? Only asking all these question as I have never used these companies before and dont know much about them.
    Thanks for any help:D

2. DX30

DX30 New Member

May 22, 2005
    Both companies have a good reputation so IMHO you would be Ok with either. I believe they each do their own software so if you have any specific requirements better ask them first to make sure it will do what you want.

If you are going to send off the TiVo have you considered a network card (assuming you don't already have one). A cachecard will also speed things up, a good idea if you are fitting a large hard drive.

3. SolidTechie

SolidTechie New Member

Dec 11, 2002
    Rugeley, Staffs
    Both have a good reputation. Both owners - healydave (TiVoland) and mikerr(TiVo Central) are prolific posters both here, and on the TiVoland forums.

TiVo Central is using a different disk image from TiVoLand - it depnds what is important to you - there will probably be more people using the TiVoLand disk image than the other, however, the TiVo Central disk will be slightly cheaper.