A what's on grid view

Discussion in 'TiVo Underground' started by offthefront, Jan 29, 2003.

1. offthefront

offthefront New Member

Jun 4, 2002
    uk

Advertisements

Inspired by the excellent whatson module and the fact that my digiguide subscription had expired, I decided to see if I could do something vaguely equivalent with tivoweb.

Given I've never written any tcl or html before, I surprised myself by coming up with something I'm using now, so I though I'd share it with everyone.

It shows what's on in a grid. You can choose Favourite/Watched Channels, how many hours to show in grid. You can search backward and forward. The page autoupdates on the hour.

I've had fun throwing this together. It has been interesting just to see how different browsers render tables (which is how I implemented the grid). I think I have a reasonable solution in the browsers that I have tested it in. I've tested in Mozilla, Konquerer, w3m on Linux and it seems to work well. It doesn't work well in lynx as its table rendering is poor. It seems to work on IE too.

I've been using it with the small icons recently posted by AlexV in http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?postid=966797#post966797. These work well to keep the grid row size small.

Some things I'd like to add.
    Clicking on the channel name changes channel, but this reloads the page and is thus slow. I'd like to execute the SendKey commands without reloading the page.
    Keep the column and row headers fixed while the rest of the table scrolls. The html spec hints that this may be possible, but I don't know if any browsers
    support it yet.

Let me know what you think.
    Sue.

Attached newer version

Attached Files:

2. mrtickle

mrtickle Active Member

Aug 26, 2001
    Birmingham, UK
    Very nice! Seems to work ok in Opera. It might need some tweaking for programmes that aren't nice lengths though, Radio 4 seems to upset it :)

3. Zirak

Zirak Member

Apr 24, 2002
    New York