30 days later, my impressions

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by gsusser, Jul 31, 2011.

1. gsusser

gsusser Member

Jul 10, 2011

Advertisements

I've had TiVo a month now and some thoughts. I'm satisfied with the purchase and have no regrets despite the shortcomings I've come across. I'm no expert and am only a "casual" TV watcher, but I'm not new to DVR's - I had a DVR with DISH that I thought was fantastic. Then I moved to a building where satellite is not allowed and got stuck with Comcast and their poor excuse for a DVR. It made me appreciate DISH's DVR that much more.

My initial plan in opting for TiVo was to save money and drop cable altogether and use an antenna. The reason I wanted TiVo was I like to watch stuff when I want.

Unfortunately, the antenna didn't work out because of my location. So, I'm still with Comcast, though I downgraded to the most basic service I could get with a cable card. [As luck would have it, they screwed up so bad with the cable card installation, I got a year of HBO for free.] All in all, I made out okay financially since I have internet service with Comcast. If I dropped TV altogether, the charge for internet would have more than doubled. My total monthly bill with a fast internet speed is about $100 which includes TiVo. It was $140 before TiVo. I don't get as many channels, but that's irrelevant to me.

I think the DVR from DISH is better, though not significantly. One drawback with TiVo is the 30 second fast forward. It seems it has to buffer and there's a delay if you press it a few times, which I do to skip commercials. The season pass seems flaky. Sometimes I get an option to only record new stuff and other times not, causing me to go to another menu to change the option. My memory is a little hazy on this one, but I think with DISH, I was pretty much able to continue viewing whatever I was watching in a small screen in the corner while doing other things. With TiVo, that's not the case all the time.