TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2009, 06:32 PM   #1
DCDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
TiVo Menu is biggest issue

Just went to FIOS from DirecTV due to deteriorating service. FIOS/motorola has lousy DVRs so I bought a TiVo HDXL.

My biggest annoyance (and there are a few) is the fact that if I want to see what I have recorded, the TiVo turns off the live show I am watching. It doesn't do this in the guide, but does in the TiVo menu and any of its sub-menus.

Is there a way around this? I hate missing part of a game while I check on something else.

My overall impression is positive but this one thing is a real thorn in the side.

Thanks much.

Dan
DCDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 07:23 PM   #2
RoyK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SW VA
Posts: 2,506
You can pause the live tv before checking the menu.
RoyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:07 PM   #3
DCDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Yes, of course but in a real time situation it's not a viable solution. This, I believe, is a shortcoming, albeit one of very few.

thanks.
DCDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:31 PM   #4
JimSpence
Just hangin'
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 30,413
Sarcasm On:
If the real time situation is so important, then why surf through the menus?
Sarcasm Off:

Pause the real time show.
Search your recorded program list or whatever.
Unpause the show and then skip through commercials until you get back to live.
__________________
Jim
JimSpence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 09:31 PM   #5
dianebrat
Uncontrolled Force
 
dianebrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: boston'ish
Posts: 7,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCDan View Post
Yes, of course but in a real time situation it's not a viable solution. This, I believe, is a shortcoming, albeit one of very few.

thanks.
It's one of the common complaints from users of provider provided DVRs, I can see how folks get used to it, but I've never really missed it, and my MCE PC's do the same, I just don't see the allure, but different strokes and all.

The fact that you can get the guide up and set up a recording from it, all while overlaid on your existing program is all I need.

Diane
__________________
"There is a distinct difference between having an open mind and having a hole in your head from which your brain leaks out."
dianebrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 08:21 PM   #6
casino187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
I also don't like this. It's nice to at minimum have some background noise. Like if you aren't really into what you are watching, but would still like to hear it while you are searching for greener grass.

Another question. If you are watching a recorded show, then go to menu, is there an easy way to just "exit" back out of the menu and pick up on your show where you left off? or do you have to go through shows and "resume playback"?
casino187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |