TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Closed Thread
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2005, 12:02 PM   #301
chillimoon
chillimoon
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
My TiVo was down for way too long; wish I'd seen this thread earlier. Thanks to Stan, my old SVR-2000 is up and running again.
chillimoon is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:39 PM   #302
dqt9350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
gxcebotd image

I tried to back th e original tivo drive but accidently overwrote wrong partition. Can you please send me this image
dqt9350 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:40 PM   #303
dqt9350
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Please send me a hughes gxcebotd series 1 image. Thank you.
dqt9350 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:41 PM   #304
Gunnyman
Peekols
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 28,656
please read the 1st post and realize you have to send stan a PM to get anywhere.....
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:46 PM   #305
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 505
The mod's need to clean out this thread and sticky it.
__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a DVR"
kschauwe is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:51 PM   #306
Gunnyman
Peekols
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 28,656
yeah sticky it and lock it
good idea
__________________
It's a sociological cornucopia of silliness.
Gamertag: GGwallen
Gunnyman is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:26 PM   #307
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
I'll probably be starting a new thread soon. Several kind souls have sent v7 images in... I just have to get them up on the server and links created. This thread has gotten fairly cumbersome.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:05 PM   #308
azitnay
Registered User
 
azitnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC USA
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by kschauwe
The mod's need to clean out this thread and sticky it.
I doubt it'll ever become a sticky, given TiVo's general position on image swapping.

Hell, I'm (pleasantly) surprised it's lasted this long as it has.

Drew
azitnay is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 11:03 PM   #309
bguild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 25
Stan, sent you a PM. Thank you in advance for offering the download location for the TCD240080 image.

Brian
__________________
There is no place like http://localhost/
bguild is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 09:06 PM   #310
jor-el
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 334
Thanks to Stan and the others involved. It's too bad it has to be done discreetly, but it gets the job done.

I had tried to upgrade a friend's hdrv2 on size to discover that the 40g original was flagged by SMART as failing. Mfstools failed on a particular section with dma on, managed with it off. But the copy was no good. Tried again with the minimal copy and it worked great for 30 minutes, then failed and no copies after that worked.

But with a clean image, was able to hand him the new 120, and he was good 10 minutes after he got home.
jor-el is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 03:49 PM   #311
dravenj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Hi,

Does any anyone have a 4.0.1b image for a SA S2 240040 system, Stan tried helping me later but we were out of luck. Somehting newer is cool, but I only have a 40GB drive so it will have to fit that. Anyway I want to say thanks to Stan, and thanks to anyone that can help me find a image of 4.0.1b. Please just PM me.
dravenj is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 12:48 PM   #312
nicon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 15
My backup Image for my Sony_SAT-T60_3.1.0c2 install was lost - Any place I can download this?
nicon is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 05:31 PM   #313
mad6c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 39
The image I downloaded is version 3.1 and my unit had 6.2 before the drive crashed. It's a DirecTV Phillips DSR7000. Will the unit upgrade itself?

BTW thanks Stan.

Mike
mad6c is offline  
Old 11-23-2005, 08:17 AM   #314
StanSimmons
Senior Moment Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Flower Mound, TX, USA
Posts: 4,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad6c
The image I downloaded is version 3.1 and my unit had 6.2 before the drive crashed. It's a DirecTV Phillips DSR7000. Will the unit upgrade itself?

BTW thanks Stan.

Mike
Yes, it will upgrade during normal daily calls.
__________________
Stan

"easy as 3.141592653589793238462643383279502884179"
StanSimmons is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:15 PM   #315
John95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2
what about a forced upgrade?

what if you are not sure what version you had. I have a DirecTV Phillips DSR7000 also, but I lost my OEM maxtor and cannot retrieve my info, so I don't know what version to D/L.
John95 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:31 PM   #316
boxgrubber
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
I have a Philips Series 1 TiVo Digital Video Recorder PTV100 DVR that the hard drive just died on me. I can't even copy the image off of this drive. Can you please hook me up with a good image so I can get this back up and running?

Can someone please PM me with a good Image.....?
boxgrubber is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:10 PM   #317
hawkeye1991
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Stan, Sent you a PM

Please, help Thanks


Handle: robluciferlowe at yahoo
hawkeye1991 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 10:35 PM   #318
killerdcc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: HS, NY, USA
Posts: 19
I just sent Stan a PM. Thanks man.
__________________
Dead DSR 6000R ====> 106Hrs (Power supply)
Dead DSR 7000 (Drive blown)
DSR 7000 ====> 106Hrs (with TwinBreeze) ====> Dead A Drive ===> 71 Hrs (sans TwinBreeze)
HUGHES SD-DVR40 - stock for now
killerdcc is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:04 AM   #319
no-blue-screen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 331
People, READ THE TITLE OF THE THREAD! You need to PM StanSimmons, he does not PM you! If you need help with an image you need to send him a PM in order to get a response. Good luck.
no-blue-screen is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:57 AM   #320
pegwen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Image

Can you send me an image for a Hughes_SD-DVR40, and any installation instructions that I may need or where to find this information. Thanks.
pegwen is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:05 AM   #321
azitnay
Registered User
 
azitnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC USA
Posts: 2,964
I'd repeat no-blue-screen's message above, but it doesn't seem like it'd do much good...

As for installation instructions, try http://www.newreleasesvideo.com/hins...to/index9.html or http://tivo.upgrade-instructions.com/index.php.

Drew
azitnay is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:09 AM   #322
no-blue-screen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 331
Probably not, but eventually I guess they will figure out what they need to do.
no-blue-screen is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 05:27 PM   #323
Tube_Dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
More kudo's for Stan. He responded in less than an hour on the day before Christmas!!!
Tube_Dude is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 08:59 PM   #324
e_phat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
even more kudos for stan

Stan responded to me within 15 minutes on Xmas!!! Wow! that is all I can say.
e_phat is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:11 AM   #325
walter25
walter25
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: new york
Posts: 1
hi,
i need an image for my tivo tcd240080. also do you know once i restore this image, how do i get the service number for the machine again?
thanks
walter25 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 08:50 AM   #326
azitnay
Registered User
 
azitnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington, DC USA
Posts: 2,964
Read this thread, and PM StanSimmons for an image.

As for the TSN, look on the back of the unit for 240-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX.

Drew

Edit: And in case I misinterpreted your TSN question, after the restore you'll need to do a Clear & Delete Everything to tie your TSN back to the hard drive.
azitnay is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:43 PM   #327
rebel38668
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
TIVO image backup

I was wondering if I could burn an image of my original TIVO Hard drive to a DVD. I plugged the hdd into my winxp machine and it does not recognize it. Anyone know of any software that will backup an image? Thanks
rebel38668 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:51 PM   #328
gregmark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 4
Failed restore

Following a unrecoverable hard drive error, I requested an image for a TCD540080 and StanSimmons dutifully responded with a link to a TCD540040 image. I didn't think twice about using it - same model, just a different size hard drive, right? Anyway, I followed the Hinsdale instructions (Single A to Larger Single A) as best as could be expected and ended up with a continuous reboot problem after the "Almost there" screen. A couple of redos, trying slighlty different options and routes with mfsrestore, tpip, and mfsadd, resulted in the same. The new drive is a 200GB Maxtor Ultra ATA/133.

Before I post this problem to a more sympton-specific thread, is it possible that this failed becuase the image was a 540040 and not a 540080?

Thanks
--gregmark
gregmark is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:10 PM   #329
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 2,292
Do you know if the image has a LBA48 aware kernel. Try restoring with out expanding.
HomeUser is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:40 AM   #330
Rob00GT
This space for rent.
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: D/FW Metroplex on the great state of Texas!
Posts: 78
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel38668
I was wondering if I could burn an image of my original TIVO Hard drive to a DVD. I plugged the hdd into my winxp machine and it does not recognize it. Anyone know of any software that will backup an image? Thanks
Now that's funny! Oh wait, you are kidding right? Hope you made a backup!

Can't believe the number of basic questions being asked in this thread that are answered in stickies all over this web site.
__________________
Hughes SD-DVR40 <--120GB.
RCA DVR40 <--200GB.
Samsung SIR-S4080R <--
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

All Zippered using instructions from this site. Thanks!
Rob00GT is offline  
Closed Thread
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |