TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2004, 12:46 AM   #361
jmchain
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9
I can't get it to work

I'm trying to use ppp over a serial cable, using the ,#257 dialing prefix, and I can't get this damn thing to work, I can see the correct things in hyperterminal, but here are the results from the modem log... it connects, but doesn't seem to pass any info anywhere. Anyone have any ideas? please help me out. I'd really love to use my tivo again and I moved and don't have a land line. If no one can actually help me, can someone post a modem log from a setup that does work, so I can see what is supposed to happen? (Open Control Panel, click on phone and modems, click on modems, right click on "communication cable between 2 computers", click on view log...)

Thanks!


10-20-2004 21:29:23.515 - 57600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
10-20-2004 21:29:23.515 - Initializing modem.
10-20-2004 21:29:23.515 - Waiting for a call.
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: ~
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Interpreted response: Ring
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: <ff>}#<c0>!}!
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: !} }4}"
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: &} } }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }%}&}
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: w<8f>}'}"
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Recv: (}"V(~
10-20-2004 21:32:54.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: ~
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Interpreted response: Ring
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: <ff>}#<c0>!}!
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: !} }4}"
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Answering the call.
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: &} } }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Recv: }%}&}
10-20-2004 21:32:57.109 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Recv: w<8f>}'}"
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Recv: }
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Recv: (}"V(~
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Send: CLIENTSERVER
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Connection established at 57600bps.
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Error-control off or unknown.
10-20-2004 21:32:57.125 - Data compression off or unknown.
10-20-2004 21:33:27.125 - Read: Total: 528, Per/Sec: 14, Written: Total: 0, Per/Sec: 0
10-20-2004 21:33:30.140 - Hanging up the modem.
10-20-2004 21:33:30.140 - Hardware hangup by lowering DTR.
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - A timeout has expired waiting to comm event to occour.
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - Recv: <e0><e0><e0><00><e0><e0><e0><00><e0><e0><e0><00><e0><00><e0> <00><e0><e0><e0><00><00><e0><e0><e0><00>
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - Unknown Response
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - 57600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - Initializing modem.
10-20-2004 21:33:32.140 - Waiting for a call.

Last edited by jmchain : 10-21-2004 at 06:38 AM.
jmchain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2004, 12:41 PM   #362
deichkorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 5
Setup via Wired USB Ethernet Adapter - HELP

Hi, lot's of people talk about using ,#401 to perform the initial setup on a Tivo S2. I've read that there were problems with the Linksys model so I exchanged it for Belkin's model which someone in these posts did report good luck with.

Here's my question - I have the belkin usb ethernet adapter plugged into my d-link router. The d-link router runs to my cable modem. I am able to see the tivo show up in the dhcp logs and can identify it's ip address. I've put that IP address into the DMZ to ensure the firewall isn't blocking anything. (I've also connected the tivo directly to the cable modem, rebooted everything and still no luck)

I put the ",#401" prefix (minus the quotes of course) and I am not able to get the tivo to work with ethernet - connection failed every time.

I'd appreciate any advise that might be available. Otherwise, I'm going to have to lug this thing into my office and perform the setup there and hope that it downloads v4 so I can bring it back home to use ongoing without a phone line.

Thanks!!
deichkorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 10:40 AM   #363
sda3
TiVo Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 175
Thumbs up Serial PPP

I have had my Dirrctv DSR704 for about 4 months. I was successfull making its update calls over vonage for about 3 months. But for the last month it has not been able to complete a call. I was pretty frustrated, so I decided to check out Serial PPP. I went to Radio Shack and bought the $6 worth of parts I needed to make the null modem cable from the diagram on tivohelp. Put it all together and it works great. I don't know why I didn't just do it in the first place, but I still don't understand how it actually connects to tivo.
sda3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 10:54 AM   #364
ashu
User title defunct
 
ashu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 9,158
Re: Setup via Wired USB Ethernet Adapter - HELP

Quote:
Originally posted by deichkorn
Hi, lot's of people talk about using ,#401 to perform the initial setup on a Tivo S2. ... I'd appreciate any advise that might be available!
Hmm - seems you might have one of the TiVos, that, under odd circumstances, absolutely refuse to complete (Initial) Guided Setup using ,#401. I had the issue with a Black 40 and a Blakc 140, a Silver 40 and A Toshiba SD-H400. Irritating.

Of course, the Silvers and the Toshiba were happy to pick up with internet setup to do the LARGE OS/software update download, after the initial 10-15 minute calls (2 of 'em, one quickie to an 800 number, the next to available local numbers just downloaded). Basically once the menu system came up, they were all able to allow network setup with wired/wireless adapters. The black one had to also mkae the long (2+ hour) download phone call

YMMV, but you may just have to bite the bullet and use a phone line.

FYI, I tried teh Belkin F5D5050, the Linkssy USB200M and the D-Link DWL-122 (wireless). And on the flip side of the coin, recent buyers have been lucky enough to never need a phone line, ever! Ugh!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(Too many TiVos!)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Ad hoc, ad loc, and quid pro quo!
So little time! So much to know!
ashu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2004, 10:40 PM   #365
robcio
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
jmchain:

I had the same problem as you. If you look at your log these entries are incorrect:
10-20-2004 21:29:23.515 - 57600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2

To correct them just go to: Control Panel > Phone and Modem Options > Modems > Properties
Then in the new window: Advanced > Change Defult Preferences > General, in this tab change Flow Control to NONE.

Afterwards the log should look like this:

11-13-2004 21:08:21.856 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=0, rtsctl=1
robcio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2004, 08:10 PM   #366
chadfetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Champlin, MN
Posts: 88
Ok, I am running Tivo Series 1 with ver: 3.0xxxxx. I have installed the modem on my XP laptop connected via the serial cable, and when I try to run a test call using prefex ,#296 I get a message after trying to Connect saying "Failed. Service not answering" Below you will find the log from my modem. Any suggestions?

11-22-2004 18:57:14.056 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.056 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.056 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.056 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.207 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.207 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\modemui.dll, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.247 - File: C:\WINDOWS\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 5.1.2600
11-22-2004 18:57:14.247 - Modem type: Communications cable between two computers
11-22-2004 18:57:14.247 - Modem inf path: mdmhayes.inf
11-22-2004 18:57:14.247 - Modem inf section: M2700
11-22-2004 18:57:14.247 - Matching hardware ID: pnpc031
11-22-2004 18:57:14.257 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 18:57:14.257 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 18:57:14.257 - Waiting for a call.
11-22-2004 18:58:06.672 - Passthrough On
11-22-2004 18:58:08.775 - Passthrough Off
11-22-2004 18:58:08.775 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 18:58:08.775 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 18:58:08.775 - Waiting for a call.
11-22-2004 18:58:22.875 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 18:58:22.875 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 18:58:22.895 - Waiting for a call.
11-22-2004 18:58:23.096 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 18:58:23.096 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 18:58:23.096 - Waiting for a call.
11-22-2004 19:03:50.156 - Recv: ~
11-22-2004 19:03:50.156 - Interpreted response: Ring
11-22-2004 19:03:50.156 - Recv: <ff>}#<c0>!}!
11-22-2004 19:03:50.156 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.166 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.166 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.166 - Recv: !} }4}"
11-22-2004 19:03:50.166 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.176 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.176 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.176 - Recv: &} } }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.176 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.186 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.186 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.186 - Recv: }%}&}
11-22-2004 19:03:50.186 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Recv: ]<7f>}'}"
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Recv: (}"<9e>};~
11-22-2004 19:03:50.196 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:53.160 - Recv: ~
11-22-2004 19:03:53.160 - Interpreted response: Ring
11-22-2004 19:03:53.160 - Recv: <ff>}#<c0>!}!
11-22-2004 19:03:53.160 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:53.160 - Answering the call.
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Recv: }
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Recv: !} }4}"
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Send: CLIENTSERVER
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Connection established at 9600bps.
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Error-control off or unknown.
11-22-2004 19:03:53.170 - Data compression off or unknown.
11-22-2004 19:04:23.173 - Read: Total: 538, Per/Sec: 15, Written: Total: 0, Per/Sec: 0
11-22-2004 19:04:26.288 - Hanging up the modem.
11-22-2004 19:04:26.288 - Hardware hangup by lowering DTR.
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - A timeout has expired waiting to comm event to occour.
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - Recv: +++ATH<cr>
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - Unknown Response
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 19:04:28.291 - Waiting for a call.
11-22-2004 19:04:30.704 - Passthrough On
11-22-2004 19:04:32.797 - Passthrough Off
11-22-2004 19:04:32.797 - 9600,8,N,1, ctsfl=1, rtsctl=2
11-22-2004 19:04:32.797 - Initializing modem.
11-22-2004 19:04:32.797 - Waiting for a call.
chadfetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 03:44 PM   #367
Deeva_lee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 16
I am having problems with teh Serial to computer connection.
I have the null modem attached and when it try to set the computer up to read that port as the modem, it wont let me see it.. I am at a loss.
I am using XP home.
I have disabled my computers modem.
When i select the comp to comp selection an click next, i see no ports listed and only have the option to view ports listed, and cant select "all ports"

Not sure what to do next
__________________
i like tivo
Deeva_lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:09 AM   #368
cleal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Using Mac OS X's pppd with a series 1

As an inexpensive workaround to my Tivo's problems with VoIP, I thought I'd add the terminal commands that allowed me to use my Apple Powerbook running OS 10.4.4 to get my schedule updated on my Sony SVR-2000 via the Tivo's serial cable, a null modem adaptor, a gender changer, and a USB-serial adaptor.

The variables that have to be changed depending on your circumstances are the device name in /dev. Mine was tty.usbserial-FTCDLHLK . I also picked an unused IP in my network; 192.168.1.8.

The first command:
$ sudo /usr/sbin/pppd /dev/tty.usbserial-FTCDLHLK 115200 \
noauth local passive proxyarp asyncmap 0 silent persist :192.168.1.8

The second command:
$ sudo sysctl -w net.inet.ip.forwarding=1

I then went to the Tivo and set it up to use ,#211 as a phone prefix which resulted in a successful update on the first try.

Credit goes to snippets gleaned from many posts on the web whose URLs I'm prohibited to acknowledge by the boards anti-spam policies for new posters.

I've located a great post by Psychoderelict on this board that tells me how to bring this whole thing down. His original command to set up the process differs a bit but the commands to bring it down should work fine.

I'm quoting his post:
<QUOTE>
To undo it all you kill the pppd process; type in the terminal:

ps -xuaw | grep pppd

to get something like

root 1594 0.0 0.0 14028 300 ?? Ss+ 3:06PM 0:00.05 /usr/sbin/p etc etc

you need the number of the process 1594. With this in hand do

sudo kill 1594

or whatever number you had.

and turn off packet forwarding:

sudo sysctl -w net.inet.ip.forwarding=0

</QUOTE>

Last edited by cleal : 02-15-2006 at 01:05 AM.
cleal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2006, 11:27 PM   #369
reubenhyman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
tivocards
reubenhyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2007, 12:47 AM   #370
Rosenkavalier
Call 1-600-DOCTORB!
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: D/FW area, TX, USA
Posts: 419
I thought I'd post this here, even though this thread/line of discussion is *almost* dead, in the case that someone else comes along with the same situation and might find this answer some help.

I've had a TurboNet card in my old Series 1 unit for many years now, and it's just sitting there happilly grinding away (may be about time for a new drive...but that's another story). I decided to get a new Router, as the old one I purchased quickly when I first needed a WiFi-compatable one never had all of the features I wanted (in particular, the ability to turn of the 'radio').

So I get everything set, and turn off the Linksys router and switch over to the new Buffalo router. Everything is happy on the PC side. The 'link' light on the ethernet port where I've plugged in the cable from my TiVo is lit, so I'm expecting everything to work as smoothly as it did on the PC.

Well...I lost count of the Test Calls I made (all failed). I went into the configuration pages on the Buffalo router, and switched basically everything off and on again. I hard-coded an IP address, didn't hard-code an IP address, set the time server port to directly pass to the TiVo box (based on comments in this thread, I thought I'd give it a shot) - - nothing worked.

Just to make sure I wasn't going crazy, I moved every cable back to the Linksys - - and the Test Call went through without a glitch. That really got me going. How could one router work, while the other one didn't?

After a lot of trial and error, I finally figured it out. With everything plugged into the new router, I did a System Reset on the TiVo for the first time during all of this. After it rebooted, the Test Call went through without a hitch. I even reset the router and it still worked.

As far as I can tell, the TiVo keeps the 'assigned' IP address from the DHCP server in memory (or on disk) as long as it remains powered up. So if you switch to a new router, with a new IP range (which these two didn't share), nothing you can do will cause the TiVo to recognize the new router until the TiVo is rebooted, and captures that new IP value.

Hopefully this will save someone else some headaches. Presuming this is the actual cause of the problem, of course.
__________________
"Rats are the rats of the world." - GhostFacers!
Rosenkavalier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:35 AM   #371
xxxtonyxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
hi
Tell me who knows where to get the software
To link PPP over serial???
I need to run as link
bwinton.latte.ca/Palm/ppp.html
comunication betwin Dreambox and Windows xp serial
Thanks
xxxtonyxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 08:36 AM   #372
xxxtonyxxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
I can not find the software to connect as you say here "TiVo to make the 'call' over the serial port" first pag
xxxtonyxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 02:00 PM   #373
whatnametochoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Question

I know I'm responding to a VERY OLD thread, however I am trying to recover my old Tivo Series 1 with a dead phone modem.

I have made the physical serial connection using a null modem and gender changer, and have made the dial prefix string change under Phone Connection, however it does NOT appear that any connection is being made between the TiVo and my laptop computer (the icon on the computer for the new connection does not ever show a connection, and the computer shows no activity when the TiVo attempts to connect to it. Further, I receive an error message stating "Failed. Service Not Answering.").

Any suggestions on where this may be going wrong?
whatnametochoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 05:59 PM   #374
classicsat
Astute User
 
classicsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 17,877
Did you set up a PPP server?
__________________
Series 2 234 Hr Lifetime.
Window XP and Ubuntu Linux on my PCs.
Watching more and more in HD direct now.
classicsat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 06:41 PM   #375
whatnametochoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat View Post
Did you set up a PPP server?
No, simply followed the provided instructions to set up the client on a computer with a serial port, and the computer is already connected to the Internet using a DHCP client connection.

Directions didn't say anithing about setting up any kind of server Is there another step?
whatnametochoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |