TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2014, 08:47 AM   #1
GoPackGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,068
The Wire is in HD and Widescreen on Amazon Prime Streaming

Just noticed that The Wire plays in 16:9 when viewed on Amazon's Prime Instant Streaming service.

I assumed that this was Amazon matting the original 4:3 frame, but to be sure I started S01E01 from the DVD on my TV, and the same episode from Amazon on my phone.

Amazon's image isn't cutting off anything from the top and bottom of the image - it's actually a true widescreen frame with more image on the left and right.

Also, Amazon's picture quality is better than the old DVDs (YMMV depending on bandwidth, I guess).

I skipped ahead a few seasons on Amazon and they look to be 16:9 the whole way through. Time for another rewatch!
GoPackGo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:37 PM   #2
GoPackGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,068
Did a screen cap of S01E02 from the DVD and from Amazon, showing the difference.

DVD:


Amazon:

GoPackGo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 12:49 PM   #3
ClutchBrake
Pass the gravy!
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Orange Barrel State
Posts: 13,948
That is awesome!

My wife and I were just talking about going back and binge watching it.
__________________
There's plenty of room for all God's creatures... Right next to the mashed potatoes.

Bachelorhood: Life, liberty, and the happiness of pursuit.

Xbox Live: ClutchBrake
ClutchBrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:27 PM   #4
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,857
It's interesting that it's widescreen on Amazon and 4:3 on HBO GO.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:34 PM   #5
trainman
Nice to see you
 
trainman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 9,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoPackGo View Post
I assumed that this was Amazon matting the original 4:3 frame...
This 16:9/HD version aired on DirecTV's Channel 101/Audience Network a couple years ago, so Amazon wasn't responsible for it -- they must have just gotten their hands on the same "remastered" version that DirecTV used.
__________________
trainman is
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
trainman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:37 PM   #6
Hoffer
Captain Chaos
 
Hoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 31,620
The show was probably shot on widescreen film, but framed for 4:3. So, there could be stuff that you see on the sides that you weren't meant to see.

Buffy was like this. I remember a scene where you could see an arm shaking this vine that the actors where trying to get thru. You couldn't see that arm in the 4:3 version because it was outside of the frame.

I've never seen The Wire, but have always meant to. Maybe I'll finally break down and watch it.
__________________
Xbox/PSN/Wii U IDs: Hoffer
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 01:39 PM   #7
GoPackGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by trainman View Post
This 16:9/HD version aired on DirecTV's Channel 101/Audience Network a couple years ago, so Amazon wasn't responsible for it -- they must have just gotten their hands on the same "remastered" version that DirecTV used.
I remember when that aired, but I thought the consensus was that DirecTV was actually matting the 4:3 frame and you were losing image.

EDIT: Here's the old thread about it. No one really reached a final verdict except for some anecdotal comments saying that heads look chopped off in some shots.

Last edited by GoPackGo : 08-12-2014 at 01:53 PM.
GoPackGo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 04:19 PM   #8
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,857
As someone who was just about to start watching the show for the first time, I'm now confused about which version I should stream. I did a quick Google search, and I came up with this article that gives some insight into the situation:

http://library.creativecow.net/artic...o_the_wire.php

It appears that the show was indeed framed for 16x9, but it was only ever intended to be shown in 4x3.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 06:55 PM   #9
GoPackGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,068
NEVERMIND! It's only the first 2 seasons, although I SWEAR I wasn't tired enough this morning to not notice that seasons 3-5 were 4:3 when I checked them, but I must have been.
GoPackGo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:10 PM   #10
Peter000
Registered User
 
Peter000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Red Wing, MN
Posts: 17,819
It's not in HD, whatever the aspect ratio.
Peter000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 10:11 PM   #11
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 31,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter000 View Post
It's not in HD, whatever the aspect ratio.
It could be, if they have the original film. Which I assume they do...
__________________
“This is the moment of truth. Are you my friend, or are you some bloodsucking network vampire?”
“Why do I have to pick one or the other?”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 01:03 AM   #12
Peter000
Registered User
 
Peter000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Red Wing, MN
Posts: 17,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Helmerichs View Post
It could be, if they have the original film. Which I assume they do...
While if that were the case it could be, it's not, unless Amazon made a mistake labeling the show. If it were HD, there would be an HD banner across the bottom of the show icon.

And I couldn't find any source, legal or not, that had HD digital copies of the show. But I don't have the most obvious source, HBO Go, so I don't know if they are or not.
Peter000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 06:26 AM   #13
pahunt
Registered User
 
pahunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: England
Posts: 1,714
Some interesting stuff right at the end of this article about HD and aspect ratios from the directory of photography. Not conclusive about whether there could be a real HD version or not but does confirm that the first 3 season were shot in 16:9 and then reframed to 4:3 for broadcast.

http://library.creativecow.net/artic...o_the_wire.php
__________________
Paul
pahunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 06:54 AM   #14
Rob Helmerichs
I am Groot!
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 31,153
There is no doubt whatsoever that there COULD be an HD version (the series was shot on film; film is higher def than HD); the only question is whether they did the work of going back to the film and rescanning it to HD.

Somebody upthread says they saw an HD version of it. That could have been upconverted from the SD version, or it could be true HD scanned from the original film.
__________________
“This is the moment of truth. Are you my friend, or are you some bloodsucking network vampire?”
“Why do I have to pick one or the other?”
Rob Helmerichs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 09:31 AM   #15
TAsunder
Debates Ghee vs Gi
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 14,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Helmerichs View Post
There is no doubt whatsoever that there COULD be an HD version (the series was shot on film; film is higher def than HD); the only question is whether they did the work of going back to the film and rescanning it to HD.

Somebody upthread says they saw an HD version of it. That could have been upconverted from the SD version, or it could be true HD scanned from the original film.
Articles in this thread seem to indicate that they did some upconverting and it looks better than a typical consumer-TV-driven upconvert.
TAsunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 10:45 AM   #16
Peter000
Registered User
 
Peter000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Red Wing, MN
Posts: 17,819
All I'm saying is "The Wire" streaming from Amazon is not HD.
Peter000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 11:27 AM   #17
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,857
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter000 View Post
All I'm saying is "The Wire" streaming from Amazon is not HD.
It's not. I just watched the first episode last night. It did look good, though. It will be weird if it suddenly switches to 4:3 for the last two seasons.
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 03:24 PM   #18
xuxa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoPackGo View Post
NEVERMIND! It's only the first 2 seasons, although I SWEAR I wasn't tired enough this morning to not notice that seasons 3-5 were 4:3 when I checked them, but I must have been.
They stopped framing for 16x9 after the first three seasons once they decided to keep the show 4x3 for the entire run. They framed the initial seasons to future proof just in case. The producers intention is for the show to be in 4x3.

Last edited by xuxa : 08-13-2014 at 03:29 PM.
xuxa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2014, 08:24 PM   #19
DevdogAZ
Give em Hell, Devils
 
DevdogAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Arizona
Posts: 37,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
As someone who was just about to start watching the show for the first time, I'm now confused about which version I should stream. I did a quick Google search, and I came up with this article that gives some insight into the situation:

http://library.creativecow.net/artic...o_the_wire.php

It appears that the show was indeed framed for 16x9, but it was only ever intended to be shown in 4x3.
Fascinating article. Thanks for posting.
__________________
"You don't own a TV? What's all your furniture pointed at?" Joey Tribbiani
DevdogAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:32 PM   #20
dslunceford
Registered User
 
dslunceford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: No. VA/D.C.
Posts: 4,940
So, GoPackGo, you got an image credit in the Verge today: http://www.theverge.com/2014/9/2/609...re-hd-marathon
__________________
--Steve



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dslunceford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 05:45 PM   #21
Peter000
Registered User
 
Peter000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Red Wing, MN
Posts: 17,819
HBO is remastering "The Wire!"
http://insidetv.ew.com/2014/09/02/hb...bd2ed1b3e71908
Peter000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 06:00 PM   #22
gweempose
Registered User
 
gweempose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northbrook, IL
Posts: 1,857
Great news, but now I'm asking myself if I should wait to watch it for the first time HD?
__________________
(1) Roamio Pro
(1) Premiere XL4
(1) Premiere XL
(3) Minis

gweempose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 07:33 PM   #23
GoPackGo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by dslunceford View Post
So, GoPackGo, you got an image credit in the Verge today: http://www.theverge.com/2014/9/2/609...re-hd-marathon
OMG!
GoPackGo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:37 PM   #24
Jim_TV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 132
I never watched this show, so if this remaster does indeed come to fruition I'll finally give it a try.
Jim_TV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 12:17 PM   #25
Hoffer
Captain Chaos
 
Hoffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 31,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by gweempose View Post
Great news, but now I'm asking myself if I should wait to watch it for the first time HD?
I have been threatening to watch this show for years. I might as well hold off until it is available in HD.
__________________
Xbox/PSN/Wii U IDs: Hoffer
Hoffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 09:46 PM   #26
Turtleboy
Registered User
 
Turtleboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 47,378
TC CLUB MEMBER
Here's how Slate thinks the digital enhancement might go. Spoiler death of a major character.

Spoiler:

Turtleboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 05:14 PM   #27
ClutchBrake
Pass the gravy!
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Orange Barrel State
Posts: 13,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtleboy View Post
Here's how Slate thinks the digital enhancement might go. Spoiler death of a major character.

Spoiler:
I realize that is spoiler tagged, but if you have never seen The Wire, DO NOT CLICK ON THAT SPOILER. Seriously. No, really seriously. I'm not kidding. Do. Not. Click.

If you have seen The Wire, click it.
__________________
There's plenty of room for all God's creatures... Right next to the mashed potatoes.

Bachelorhood: Life, liberty, and the happiness of pursuit.

Xbox Live: ClutchBrake
ClutchBrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |