TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2014, 03:40 AM   #1
TurboRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Smile Standalone Remote Finder?

This may have been discussed previously, but I couldn't find it. I just bought a new Roamio "Basic" and my understanding is that it shares the exact same remote that's included with the "Plus" and the "Pro". If so, does anyone know of a standalone transmitter that can be used to activate the "remote finder" feature that's included in the Plus & Pro base units?

In another thread, I read the following post: "I believe that the dongle included with the TiVo Slide Pro Remote has a remote finder button". Does that mean that the dongle itself has the button......and, if so, could it be purchased separately and powered by a small plug-in USB power adapter to serve as a standalone "remote finder"? TIA!

Neither I nor my wife lose the remote very often, but if I/we should have a sudden attack of senility (we're old) or a lapse in memory.....the "remote finder" would be a cool feature to have.

RAY
TurboRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 03:39 PM   #2
TurboRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Question

Over 100 views, but no response? Nobody knows? <shrug>
TurboRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:05 PM   #3
timhbtr53
Registered User
 
timhbtr53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: In the Red Stick..
Posts: 78
I wish i had the answer

I know you can't buy just the usb dongle for the slider remote but I do see them on eBay every now and then. I have the slider and yes the button is on the dongle but I have never use it. I just keep a bunch of remotes around lol. If I lose one it will show up one day "Hope". I wish I could help you more them this..... Lot's of luck but I thought I would try...
timhbtr53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 04:19 PM   #4
TurboRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Smile

THANX for trying, Tim!

I was hoping that pressing the "dongle button" would initiate the TiVo "jingle" from the remote, as it apparently does when pushing the button on the Plus and Pro base units.

Ray
TurboRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 12:45 PM   #5
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboRay View Post
THANX for trying, Tim!

I was hoping that pressing the "dongle button" would initiate the TiVo "jingle" from the remote, as it apparently does when pushing the button on the Plus and Pro base units.

Ray
Yes, if you use the newer dongle on the Roamio basic instead of using the built-in receiver/transmitter, pressing the button on the dongle will activate.the remote finder jingle on the newer style remote.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 02:34 PM   #6
TurboRay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Smile

THANX, eboydog! I got a similar response from squint over HERE.

RAY
TurboRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |