TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2014, 04:57 PM   #1
Cynthia Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
Premier 4 OTA - any options?

I bought a Premier 4 about a two years. Now I'd like to cut the cord and do away with the cable and just do the Antenna... however from what I'm reading the Premier 4s don't have an antenna option? Is there any kind of converter or something that I can get that'll let this work? Or am I out of luck and I need to buy a different one?

Thanks.
Cynthia Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 05:01 PM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,210
No real option for you...

You didn't say whether the Permiere had lifetime service or not - if it does then you can get a pretty good resale on it, if it doesn't resale will be nominal.

What you need is the 4 tuner Roamio basic TiVo. It is the latest model that supports OTA.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
Cynthia Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
I do not have a lifetime service on the Premier 4 I bought, just month to month.

Thanks.
Cynthia Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:48 PM   #4
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,987
You can call Tivo and see if you can get lifetime for it at $99 or $199. Resale value increases with lifetime then without.

You can then get either a Roamio 4 tuner, any Premiere 2 tuner, or Series 3 models.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 10:34 AM   #5
Cynthia Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 23
ok thanks
Cynthia Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 11:26 AM   #6
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynthia Blue View Post
I bought a Premier 4 about a two years. Now I'd like to cut the cord and do away with the cable and just do the Antenna... however from what I'm reading the Premier 4s don't have an antenna option? Is there any kind of converter or something that I can get that'll let this work? Or am I out of luck and I need to buy a different one?

Thanks.
I have a Roamio that would work for you for OTA.....

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...0#post10190560

Has grandfathered lower monthly rate that goes with it along with no service commitment. Drop me a PM, I might be interested in making a swap or buy your Premiere 4 tuner if you are interested in my Roamio.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |