TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2014, 07:37 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 57
TiVo Series 2 TCD140060 Not Booting

My TiVo hung a couple times over the past month and pulling the power cord cleared it up...that is until a couple nights ago. The first time I cycled the power it got to where I was going to TiVo Central and hung so I cycled the power again and this time it got to the 'powering up' screen and hung so I cycled the power again. This time it did not even get to the first screen, the TV stayed on a blue screen. All four lights on the front of the TiVo were on (green, red, and both yellows). I left it over night and still no change. Next I pulled the power again, unplugged everything else (only the USB ethernet) and powered it up again...still the blue screen only and all four lights on and it stayed this way all day.

After some research I was lead to believe it was a bad hard drive so I picked up a new (to me) 80GB WD drive. I pulled my original 60GB drive from the TiVo unit and using MFSLive I was able to successfully clone the old drive to the new one. I was feeling really good about this until I put the new drive in the system and got the same results as I did with the old drive.

What should I do next?

djsting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 08:35 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 846
Power supply?

squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 09:47 PM   #3
DVD TiVo Expert
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Beltsville, MD
Posts: 591
It is probably the power supply. The TCD140 is notorious for having bad power supplies. There are several big capacitors that go bad.

Take a look at the power supply.


1+ Series3
1 TiVoHD
1+ Pioneer DVR-810H-S
1+ Pioneer DVR-57H
1+ Toshiba RS-TX20
1+ Humax DRT400
1 Humax DRT800
Most with Lifetime and upgraded drives
All Series 2s with Linksys USB200M
robomeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 06:58 AM   #4
Registered User
unitron's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,893
The 140 is much more of a pain to disassemble (once you get the lid off) than the later S2s.

And chances are good you have capacitors that need replacing on the power supply.

But for some reason the hard drive data connection seems to give trouble easily on that model.

Do you have another IDE cable you could sub in for test purposes?


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.
Page generated in 0.05225301 seconds (69.10% PHP - 30.90% MySQL) with 16 queries