TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2014, 01:58 AM   #1
Vect0r
Registered User
 
Vect0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 33
Question about service

Currently I have a Premiere XL 4 tuner with lifetime service. I was wondering if I bought another 2 tuner Premiere without service would I be able to put it in another room and transfer shows to it for viewing from the XL4? On the same network, of course. Thanks!
Vect0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 03:21 AM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,980
Without service, you couldn't do much of anything, except to watch live TV without REW/FF.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:19 AM   #3
heyted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vect0r View Post
Currently I have a Premiere XL 4 tuner with lifetime service. I was wondering if I bought another 2 tuner Premiere without service would I be able to put it in another room and transfer shows to it for viewing from the XL4? On the same network, of course. Thanks!
I do not know of any way to do what you ask, but keep in mind there is free PC software available. You do not need two TiVo products to transfer recordings from one room to another -- you can connect a PC to the TV in the other room.
heyted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:19 AM   #4
heyted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Without service, you couldn't do much of anything, except to watch live TV without REW/FF.
There are plenty of TiVo software versions that allow live TV pause, rewind and fast forward without TiVo service. The last time I checked (several months ago), the latest Premiere software allows this.

Some TiVo software versions even allow manually setting timed and recurring recordings if the settings are correct. Here is one:
http://miami.craigslist.org/pbc/ele/4545502017.html
heyted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:32 AM   #5
L David Matheny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by heyted View Post
There are plenty of TiVo software versions that allow live TV pause, rewind and fast forward without TiVo service. The last time I checked (several months ago), the latest Premiere software allows this.

Some TiVo software versions even allow manually setting timed and recurring recordings if the settings are correct. Here is one:
http://miami.craigslist.org/pbc/ele/4545502017.html
Of course if you hope to take advantage of the more lax restrictions of older TiVo software, you would have to find a TiVo with the older software and then somehow prevent it from updating its software. If you want to transfer programs between units, you would have to connect them to a LAN that isn't connected to the Internet (at the same time the old-software unit is connected). It might be possible, but it would be a lot of trouble. And you may not have checked for too long, since I'm pretty sure the latest TiVo Premiere software allows only live TV viewing without buffering.

Last edited by L David Matheny : 07-18-2014 at 10:41 AM.
L David Matheny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 10:52 AM   #6
heyted
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Florida
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by L David Matheny View Post
Of course if you hope to take advantage of the more lax restrictions of older TiVo software, you would have to find a TiVo with the older software and then somehow prevent it from updating its software. If you want to transfer programs between units, you would have to connect them to a LAN that isn't connected to the Internet (at the same time the old-software unit is connected). It might be possible, but it would be a lot of trouble. And you may not have checked for too long, since I'm pretty sure the latest TiVo Premiere software allows only live TV viewing without buffering.
I had a Premiere connected to my LAN using MAC filtering to block the Premiere from updating. I did this to have an interactive guide with a virtual remote in a browser (http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=493278). This will not work to transfer recordings to an unsubed TiVo.

A better solution for a free interactive guide with a hardware remote is to use a Google TV device with the unsubed TiVo.
heyted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 12:31 AM   #7
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 600
You should get a mini, since you have a 4-tuner model... unless having more storage was one of your reasons for getting another box?
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |