TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-12-2014, 12:07 AM   #1
almahix
Registered User
 
almahix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ventura County California
Posts: 18
Roamio and mini; mini won't stream

I have an occasional issue with one of my minis. The mini can be connected via ethernet or moca, it doesn't matter. When I turn the tv on or sometimes just changing the channel, the program will freeze. The mini can see the roamio plus so it isn't disconnected. No matter what I do I cannot get the stream to resume. Anybody see this? It is really frustrating.
__________________
Roamio Plus and 2 Minis on Verizon FiOS.
almahix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:14 AM   #2
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 590
No error? what do you have to do to resume the program? Have you rebooted both the mini and the host? (obviously, you likely have if you've been battling this for a while)

Swap locations with two of your minis, using the same cables. if the problem follows the mini, that will certainly narrow down your troubleshooting!

And I think you signature might need an update
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:29 AM   #3
almahix
Registered User
 
almahix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ventura County California
Posts: 18
There is no apparent error. I switched the 2 Minis and the problem stayed in the same location. During the latest failure I could not stream (picture frozen) but the mini could communicate with the roamio. Today I strung a second HDMI cable so when it fails again I can do a quick swa and see if that fixes the issue. Thanks for the hint about the sig. I haven't been in the forum for some time!
__________________
Roamio Plus and 2 Minis on Verizon FiOS.
almahix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 03:59 AM   #4
lgnad
Pantless Mofo
 
lgnad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 590
Im trying to fully understand the situation, bear with me...

So, the picture freezes like its paused, but the mini otherwise continues functioning?
(i.e. you can hit the tivo button to pull up the menus, etc)

You cannot resume playing of the particular program you were just watching, or any program when in the frozen state? How do you return it to functionality? reboot the mini?

Are you using Moca or ethernet on the Roamio?
I hope you dont have the Roamio setup as a moca bridge, with ethernet connected and moca enabled. That causes network asplosion if you are using Fios's moca bridge as well.

If moca, on any of the boxes... in settings, in the networking/network status, are you seeing any moca errors? what is the phy rates?

just exploring possibilities here, since i don't recall seeing anyone complaining of this before.... and since it stayed with the location, its strange!

are you running 20.4.1 or 20.4.2? (.2 is being rolled out)
.2 is a complete re-build of the software from top to bottom, just making sure you didnt get that and are seeing some brand-new problem before unseen...
__________________
-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Mini
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |