TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Forum Jump

Old 07-11-2014, 06:02 PM   #1
ketchingup

Thought I knew what I was doing, maybe not

I bought a roamio and it is working great on an antenna. I also bought a mini and ran a cat 5 network cable between the two, but it is not working on the mini. What am I missing here? Do I need a router or something?

I am not a techie.

Thanks for the help in advance
ketchingup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 10:36 PM   #2
HomeUser

Yes you need a router, the Mini needs to be connected to the local network (and internet) also. How is your Roamio connected to the Internet?
Old 07-12-2014, 12:02 AM   #3
tarheelblue32

Quote:
Originally Posted by ketchingup View Post
Do I need a router or something?
You answered your own question. Put a router between them.
tarheelblue32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:21 AM   #4
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....

It s a shame you can't just assign static ip addresses on the Roamio and mini but both also need internet access.

How is the Roamio getting to the internet? You might be able to use moca depending on how your home network is configured, but you would at the least need to buy one moca adapter, possibly two.
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 06:24 AM   #5
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelblue32 View Post
You answered your own question. Put a router between them.
Don't need a router "between them" but rather the ethernet attached to both with the router in between your home network and your internet provider.
TiVo Premiere

Old 07-12-2014, 07:18 AM   #6
ketchingup

Quote:
Originally Posted by eboydog View Post
It s a shame you can't just assign static ip addresses on the Roamio and mini but both also need internet access.