TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-20-2015, 01:14 AM   #1
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,632
RF Roamio Remote batteries, how long do they last

About 6 months ago I put new batteries into my Roamio RF remote, I use my harmony remote for most all TiVo things, except the few times I need to use the A B C D buttons. After the new batteries I did check the battery level and it was at 100%, 6 months later it now at 30% and I have used the remote about 30 to 40 button pushes in that time. I am guessing the find me RF receiver must be running 24/7 and that may run down the batteries. I wonder if that find me feature can be turned off.

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 4 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 02:12 AM   #2
kturcotte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Portland, ME
Posts: 1,159
Mine seem to last about 2 months. I have a basic Roamio and so don't have the Find Me feature

kturcotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:17 AM   #3
Diana Collins
Registered User
 
Diana Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City Suburbs
Posts: 2,434
We use a Slide Pro in our main viewing location and even with the backlight the batteries last about 4 months or so (we bought our TiVos in June and just replaced the batteries for the second time). The regular Roamio remotes get much less use and are still on their first set of batteries (currently at 40 to 60% depending on location).

__________________
Current Setup: 2 Roamio Pros, 5 Minis on FiOS (all with lifetime)

Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006
Diana Collins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:26 AM   #4
Joe01880
I love my TiVo
 
Joe01880's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 673
I also use a slide pro remote and Energizer Lithium batteries and only change them twice a year.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using Tapatalk

__________________
Roamio Pro- All In
Roamio- 3TB w/All In
Premiere- 2TB w/PLS
TiVo HD- 2TB w/ PLS
Connected via MoCa, Ethernet.
Joe01880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 10:01 PM   #5
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,632
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe01880 View Post
I also use a slide pro remote and Energizer Lithium batteries and only change them twice a year.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using Tapatalk
I will have to look into rechargeable batters, no way to turn of the find me function I guess.

__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 4 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 11:00 AM   #6
trip1eX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,759
I'm still on the original set of batteries in my Roamio RF remote from last July. 8 months ago.

Minis are all still on their original set of batteries from about 6 months ago.

trip1eX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.
Page generated in 0.13102388 seconds (49.25% PHP - 50.75% MySQL) with 18 queries