TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 03-22-2015, 04:02 PM   #1
davidgibb88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
MOCA Question for Streaming

Hello everyone,

First off, sorry for another MoCa question, I looked through but could not find an answer exactly like I needed.

So - I have just upgraded from a Series 3 to a Roamio Plus. I am connected to my Wireless network, so can watch all the channels etc. However, my connection is only in the 30%s, therefore, when trying to watch Amazon/Netflix etc the lag is unbearable, not worth watching it.

My Router etc is in another room, so I cannot connect directly through router. Would a MoCa connection help me with streaming Netflix/Amazon etc. I have no minis to be connected, just want a solid connection from my new Roamio.

Is this worth it and is it easy to set up?

Cheers
David

davidgibb88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 04:19 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginny
Posts: 2,097
It would help. Wired connections are much more reliable.

Up to you if the $50-ish is worth it (sold on tivo.com)

Connection to a modem/router isn't too complicated.


BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 04:29 PM   #3
davidgibb88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
It would help. Wired connections are much more reliable.

Up to you if the $50-ish is worth it (sold on tivo.com)

Connection to a modem/router isn't too complicated.

Thanks Jim - is it possible to just attach coax to moca adapter then ethernet from there to Roamio (leaving router out of it)?

We watch a lot of Amazon/Netflix and Hulu so a solid fast connection is so worth it.

davidgibb88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 05:16 PM   #4
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginny
Posts: 2,097
The router connection is necessary. The top orange cable is optional though, if that helps. What's important is that the adapter be somewhere where the coax and home network can merge.

Another option is powerline adapters, but I have no experience there.

A more expensive option is upgrading your wireless network (802.11ac) and connect the Roamio to a wireless ac bridge.

BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 06:19 PM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746500/TCD846500
Posts: 1,641
I'm not going to comment on the Roamio Wifi. I have found a compromise though. I use a ASUS EA-N66r. My router probably doesn't need it, but its on a lower floor. I don't like the Linksys adapter. My computer, also upstairs, uses a RealTek RTL-8812AU via USB. I with the USB option was on Roamio since it doesn't need a power plug. But using a base Roamio I can stream 1080/p24 trailers from Amazon. It's a good test, and my Mini is also wireless.

JoeKustra is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.
Page generated in 0.07919002 seconds (48.51% PHP - 51.49% MySQL) with 18 queries