TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Mini
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-05-2014, 08:58 AM   #1
cmccarter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 6
Another mini question.

WHen I connect my mini do I lose a tuner on my roamio permanantly of just when the mini is working?
__________________
Chester
cmccarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 09:25 AM   #2
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,849
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmccarter View Post
WHen I connect my mini do I lose a tuner on my roamio permanantly of just when the mini is working?
Mini / Roamio now have dynamic tuner allocation - No you do not permanently allocate a tuner to the Mini.
__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 01:41 PM   #3
tarheelblue32
Registered User
 
tarheelblue32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,164
When you are watching live TV on the Mini, it borrows a tuner. When you hit the TiVo button at the top of the remote, the Mini releases the tuner back. If you don't release the tuner manually, the Mini automatically releases the tuner itself after 4 hours without any signals from the remote.
tarheelblue32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 07:42 AM   #4
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 841
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Mini / Roamio now have dynamic tuner allocation - No you do not permanently allocate a tuner to the Mini.
Don't forget the Premiere also has dynamic tuner allocation.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 01:53 PM   #5
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWhites View Post
Don't forget the Premiere also has dynamic tuner allocation.
True in a sense. Only the 4 tuner Premiere models have DTA, 2 tuner ones don't have support for a mini at all unless there's another TiVo in the system that does. Then you can at least watch recordings from it on the mini.
__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 03:53 PM   #6
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 841
Yup.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |