TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2014, 11:30 AM   #1
GameGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dover, OH
Posts: 2,652
The new Roamio, can you just throw in a bigger hard drive and not mess with Linux?

Can I just go and buy a 3TB (or larger) drive and replace the 500GB one in my Roamio Basic arriving wednesday and it just work without doing anything to the drive first? And if so is there a make and model of drive that works best with the Roamio Basic?
__________________
Sony SVR-2000 (Lifetime)
Tivo Roamio Basic (Monthly)
Roku HD 2500R
Roku 3
GameGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 04:26 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,684
It can handle up to 3TB without any special processes.

Most recommend WD green, or red drives.
__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |