TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2014, 02:34 PM   #1
gtidriver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Capacitor replacement in NYC area?

Hello all,

I have a lifetime service Series 3 OLED (TCD648) with a bad power supply. Can anyone point me to a someone or a service in the Greater NYC area that can replace caps? Unfortunately I have never desoldered/soldered and don't want to learn on lifetime Tivo.

Thanks.
gtidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 03:14 PM   #2
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 375
You may try to replace the whole supply.

https://www.weaknees.com/cart/TiVo-P...TCD648250.html
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 08:10 PM   #3
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtidriver View Post
Hello all,

I have a lifetime service Series 3 OLED (TCD648) with a bad power supply. Can anyone point me to a someone or a service in the Greater NYC area that can replace caps? Unfortunately I have never desoldered/soldered and don't want to learn on lifetime Tivo.

Thanks.

It seems that there is no guarantee that purchasing a replacement power supply gets you one where the original capacitors have already been prophylactically replaced.

How do you know that the problem is the power supply?
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 08:46 PM   #4
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 737
Some TV repair shops know how to solder. Especially ones that make house calls for large equipment that can't be moved.

If you only bring in the power supply, they might not care what it came out of, but they would need to know the intended power output rating.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:01 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
If you take it to a shop, tell them you have a switch-mode power supply with "capacitor plague" and need some Low ESR 105 degree replacements installed.

If you get a puzzled look in return, you're in the wrong place.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:26 PM   #6
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 737
$200 for a refurb power supply, is kinda outrageous.

There should be some places in Chinatown, and might be the cheapest if you're ok with the language barrier.

Ah, here's one.
http://www.yelp.com/biz/hi-tech-electronics-new-york-2

To reiterate Unitron, how did you figure out it's the power supply?
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 07:53 AM   #7
gtidriver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Thank you all for the replies and information. There are about four bulging caps, one of which is leaking. The drive tests fine when connected to a computer. I will pick up the cap set in the Mouser project (once they are back in stock) and try some places in Chinatown.
gtidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 01:23 PM   #8
shamilian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
$200 for a refurb power supply, is kinda outrageous.
I think it is $100 (you pay $200, then when you give them the failed unit they refund $100)
shamilian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 02:23 PM   #9
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamilian View Post
I think it is $100 (you pay $200, then when you give them the failed unit they refund $100)
Oops, not outrageous then.

I didn't realize Mouser could run out of caps. Feels like China running out of tea.
__________________
Premiere 2 tuner & SiliconDust
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 03:31 PM   #10
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtidriver View Post
I have a lifetime service Series 3 OLED (TCD648) with a bad power supply. Can anyone point me to a someone or a service in the Greater NYC area that can replace caps? Unfortunately I have never desoldered/soldered and don't want to learn on lifetime Tivo.
If you're not opposed to shipping your power supply across the country, I do capacitor replacements for forum members for the cost of parts (~$8, IIRC) and return shipping (~$10) only.

I've done two 648s, seven 652s, and one Samsung monitor. I actually ordered capacitors in bulk because I was using so many.

If you're really concerned about minimizing downtime, I could do an advanced replacement by simply shipping you a repaired and tested 648 power supply.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 04:56 PM   #11
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
Oops, not outrageous then.

I didn't realize Mouser could run out of caps. Feels like China running out of tea.
There's always Digi-Key.
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 08:33 PM   #12
gtidriver
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
If you're not opposed to shipping your power supply across the country, I do capacitor replacements for forum members for the cost of parts (~$8, IIRC) and return shipping (~$10) only.
Thank you squint for the offer, and everyone else for doing all the leg work on the cap replacements! The name of the forum really describes this board -- a community!

Unfortunately, I don't have enough posts to PM you. Can I trouble you to PM me or email me at gtidriver at outlook dot com?
gtidriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 10:21 PM   #13
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemark View Post
I didn't realize Mouser could run out of caps. Feels like China running out of tea.
These are suitable substitutes that are currently in stock at Mouser:

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...52bAS9YqzEA%3d

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...VY6dm5baXxU%3d

They're rated at 6000 and 8000 hours, respectively, versus 4000 h for the out of stock one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtidriver View Post
Thank you squint for the offer, and everyone else for doing all the leg work on the cap replacements! The name of the forum really describes this board -- a community!

Unfortunately, I don't have enough posts to PM you. Can I trouble you to PM me or email me at gtidriver at outlook dot com?
Email sent!


Some pics of the power supply from the dead (now revived) 648 that I bought:

Highslide JS

Highslide JS

squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 11:38 PM   #14
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 13,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by squint View Post
If you're not opposed to shipping your power supply across the country, I do capacitor replacements for forum members for the cost of parts (~$8, IIRC) and return shipping (~$10) only.

I've done two 648s, seven 652s, and one Samsung monitor. I actually ordered capacitors in bulk because I was using so many.

If you're really concerned about minimizing downtime, I could do an advanced replacement by simply shipping you a repaired and tested 648 power supply.
You might want to repost this in this thread:

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=473394
__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:04 PM   #15
timhbtr53
Registered User
 
timhbtr53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: In the Red Stick..
Posts: 78
I just made a order from mouser and all the caps or in stock. I have a power supply that I'm recapping to have as a spare for TCD648250B plus I have a spare for the TCD652160. I have recapped 7 power supplies in the last month.
timhbtr53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 09:06 PM   #16
timhbtr53
Registered User
 
timhbtr53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: In the Red Stick..
Posts: 78
Layout of 648 Power Supply Caps

C401 2200uF 6.3V
C402 2200uF 6.3V
C601 2200uF 16V
C701 2200uF 25V
C501 3300uF 10V
C502 3300uF 10V
C503 3300uF 10V
C504 3300uF 10V
C603 470uF 16V
C702 470uF 16V
C403 1000uF 6.3V
C120 - 470uF 200V
C220 - 47uF 50V
C227 - 10uF 25V
C306 - 2.2uF 50V
All are rated at 10000hrs@105C except for 603,702,403 which are 6000hrs@105C and 4000hrs@105C.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 648P-S.jpg (51.1 KB, 19 views)
timhbtr53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 06:48 PM   #17
squint
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 748
I thought I had a picture of the AcBel Tivo HD power supply but I can't find it. I still have the power supply so I can just take another picture.
squint is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |