TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Forum Jump
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-13-2014, 05:33 PM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
Awful wireless transfer speeds from PC to Roamio basic

I ditched my cable DVR a few months ago for a Roamio and overall I've been happy with it. However, my biggest gripe is the abysmal transfer speeds. I have a very current 802.11N wireless router capable of 300Mb/s. (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1)

In the roamio settings it says the wireless connection is excellent (>80%) but transferring files from PC to the Tivo is painfully slow. Its impossible to watch a program as its transferring and in the completed transfers log it says ~5Mb/s! On the PC side I'm using the Tivo Desktop app. Tried both auto and manual downloads and both are slow.

My phone on the same wifi connection can do a speed test out over my cable modem and it's 15Mb/s. So, it's a little ridiculous that this transfer speed within my network is so slow.

Any ideas for things I can check for settings or tests I can perform to debug this?

Edit: More Info on this (see attachment for detail):
Router admin panel shows the Tivo is connecting around 130Mb/s so my wireless connection speed is solid.

However, check out what Tivo Desktop shows me. I started transferring a 3412MB video file to my Tivo. At 100Mb/s, that should take under 4.5 minutes to transfer ((3412MB*8)/100Mb/s) / 60. Tivo desktop shows that 4 minutes of a 57 minute show have been transferred and that took 25 minutes.

My wireless N router is set to auto channel select.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tivo DL info.jpg (52.9 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by cbr929rrguy; 06-14-2014 at 07:22 AM.
cbr929rrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 06:44 PM   #2
TiVoholic by the bay
ThAbtO's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,848
Try to keep cordless phones (landline), and microwaves at least 2-3 feet away from your wireless router, and other wireless network adapters/devices. They can cause interference which could slow down and even interrupt network traffic.

You can also use a set wireless channel to 1, 6 or 11and never use the Auto (which almost always chooses a channel with the most interference).

Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)


The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:39 AM   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2
No other wireless interferors close to the Tivo or the router. Logs confirm a solid connection and link rate. Router was set to auto but I've now forced it to use a different channel. I'm at a loss as to what the problem is...

cbr929rrguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 10:13 AM   #4
Registered User
worachj's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 919
Just throwing out ideas, some things you could try...

Update the firmware on your router to the latest version.

Check page 88 for optimizing wireless performance.

You may need to play around with the Maximum Transmission Unit (MTU) size.

Play around with the quality of service settings (QoS) and give your TiVo a higher priority.

S2, S3 (OTA), TiVo Hd, Premiere (OTA), Roamio Basic (Comcast Cable).

Last edited by worachj; 06-15-2014 at 10:26 AM.
worachj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 11:56 AM   #5
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 326
i switched to ethernet over my powerline...took care of it for me

spaldingclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:32 PM   #6
HD Addict
aaronwt's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 16,950
An excellent wireless connection on the Roamio Basic should see up to 95Mb/s transfer rates. The same speeds as the wired connection. That is what I get from my Roamio Basic.

BOLT(4TB)x2/Roamio Pro (5TB Red)
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic(1TB Red)/Roamio Basic refurb(stock drive)
53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 10:29 PM   #7
Pantless Mofo
lgnad's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 654
how is the pc connected? also wirelessly?
have you benchmarked your pc's xfer speeds? (speedtest.net)
Do you have a network "loop"? e.g. both Moca and wireless active on the tivo and a moca bridge active. ...this can cause havoc and kill speeds

reboot ALL of your networking equipment

-Roamio Pro/Slide Pro
-Premiere Xl4
-Stream (Gotta go unplug the sucker one of these days!)
lgnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.
Page generated in 0.13474488 seconds (54.46% PHP - 45.54% MySQL) with 17 queries