TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2014, 08:09 PM   #1
hershey4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 165
Troubles transferring PC to Tivo Premiere

I don't use Tivo Desktop (2.8) often, but recently I moved several shows there to help ensure I had enough room for a marathon of tivo recording activity.

I just went to move them back to the TV and one by one I selected them from MyShows->MyPC and selected Transfer. (I selected in chronological order fwiw.) Saw the blue light on first request. SUbsequent requests said request would go to the TODO list. Checked a bit later when I saw the blue light was off. 2 shows had been transferred that were in the middle of the pack chronologically. Other 4 are a mystery. None are in the TODO list, but some say they are in the TODO list if I attempt a transfer. Some let me start a transfer again, but the blue light does not stay on very long.

The PC is wireless. The Premier-4 is via moca.

I watched a bit of one of the untransferred shows on the PC ok. There was intermittent pixelation.

I read similar posts and did all the rebooting and restarting. No help. Any new tricks to kick it in the ---? I would even welcome an error log, but can't find anything. Is there some log around?

I think as a workaround, if I convert the .tivo files to .mpg I can view them from my network drive (router has some DLNA thing). That will take some time though and is a pita. (That drive is supposed to work with .tivo files, but that hasn't been working for awhile. It won't re-scan that filetype anymore, so I can't put new ones there. sorry digressing. ) Am not interested in installing new software.
hershey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 08:49 PM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,473
Try connecting through a hard wired connection. Does that work?
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 07:20 AM   #3
hershey4
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Red Sox Nation
Posts: 165
I don't have a hard wire connection available.

I am now wondering if the files themselves are corrupted or too poor quality to make the transfer.

I started making a mpg of the first chronological show in the series (VideoRedoPlus). It aborted after 3 minutes with an "audio stream buffer overflow" or something to that affect. Chasing that error down did not come up with any hope. I even attempted making the mpg with the episode that allegedly did transfer to TV okay just to see. It also got the error.

I watched the 3 minutes of the mpg show and it was highly pixelated and choppy.

I will watch the first show in the series on the PC, so that I can check out if the 2nd show that did transfer see if it is actually watchable.

THen I will have to figure out why MyPC is not showing up on my Tivo anymore. Rebooting PC didn't help. May need to reboot Tivo. As I was repeating attempts to transfer yesterday, at some point, MYPC disappeared and has not been seen again.

In case this all falls apart, the series is starting up again on 6/11 so they are repeating last season's episodes on 6/7. I set my Tivo! Unfortunately the 6 shows they are repeating aren't labelled with info about which shows they are, but I am hoping they are the same ones I am trying to transfer.
hershey4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |