TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2014, 12:11 PM   #1
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,934
Revise MOCA network to use Cisco gateway

Comcast Business just updated our gateway to a Cisco Business Wireless Gateway. Its a model DPC3939B. It includes the cable modem, gigabit router, wireless access point (actual dual, one public, one private) and MOCA gateway.

I do not subscribe to Comcast television services. We use a large outdoor OTA antenna.

Currently I have a moca adapter connecting the household coax network to the ethernet switch. 2 tivos and a mini are on the the moca network. It works fine.

I would like to remove the moca adapter and use the moca built in to the new gateway. But connecting it with a splitter as shown in the Cisco manual will result in both the antenna and the Comcast systems connected to each other. I think this is a big problem.

How do I get the moca on to my coax network with OTA antenna still connected. Is there some sort of filter I need to place between them or should I keep them separate and just continue using the separate adapter?
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 12:48 PM   #2
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,605
Not sure what your wiring looks like exactly, but would a diplexer like the one below help?

Use the "satellite" leg to bridge moca wiring, which will attenuate the lower OTA frequencies.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/GE-2-Way-...3349/202698960

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 06-03-2014 at 12:54 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 01:35 PM   #3
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,934
Have no idea if that would work.

My wiring is pretty simple. Comcast and Roof Antenna both enter the equipment closet on separate feeds. The OTA antenna goes to a distribution block and from there to all the tivo's around the house. The moca adapter also connects to the distribution block on one of the output legs. The Comcast incoming line connects directly to the single coax port on the gateway.

I suppose I could just quit talking about it and hook it together adding a splitter in front of the gateway and the second leg to my distribution block, disconnect the moca adapter and see if things work. Was just looking to see if there was a 'right' way to do this.
__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |