TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Stream
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-26-2014, 11:12 AM   #1
bradleys
It'll be fine....
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,871
Android Stream; TiVo Support says keep your eyes open!

Who will be the fist to get it...


__________________
TiVo S2 (Retired)
TiVo Series 3 (Sold)
TiVo HD (Sold)
TiVo Premier (2 TB Upgrade)
TiVo Roamio Plus
TiVo Mini
iPad TiVo app
TiVo Stream (Sold)
Personal Video Share powered by PyTiVo
bradleys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 12:31 PM   #2
SQUIDWARD360
Registered User
 
SQUIDWARD360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleys View Post
Who will be the fist to get it...

I don't think that is what it means. It is SW for the Tivo that supports Android and has been rolling out for weeks. The update for the App has not been updated yet.
SQUIDWARD360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 12:37 PM   #3
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 812
Given the long lead-up we've all had to this and the bits of information that have been trickling out, the updated Tivo app for Android is going to be available on Monday, 9/30/2014, IMHO.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 03:20 PM   #4
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
TiVo typically releases updates on Tuesdays. You're right on the date, but off by a day.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 03:20 PM   #5
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 907
I'm still waiting for them to start popping up ads on the TiVo itself, tech sites, and public places. They really got to get more people aware of the Android streaming. They have so much damage to undo.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 03:23 PM   #6
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 812
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
TiVo typically releases updates on Tuesdays. You're right on the date, but off by a day.
I'll blame it on being Friday afternoon. Tuesday, 9/30.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 08:37 PM   #7
ilovedvrs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 287
lame they said Sept.. might as well said Oct 1st.

big difference...

jerk people around and make they wait all month for some crappy broken software they promised over a year ago.


Sorry, I purchased this box last year, and again two months ago just for android support...
__________________
Roamio <- S3 <- S2 <- S1 ( Tivo since 1999 )
ilovedvrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 08:45 PM   #8
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 907
It'll come, just be patient.
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 09:28 AM   #9
SQUIDWARD360
Registered User
 
SQUIDWARD360's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilovedvrs View Post
lame they said Sept.. might as well said Oct 1st.

big difference...

jerk people around and make they wait all month for some crappy broken software they promised over a year ago.


Sorry, I purchased this box last year, and again two months ago just for android support...
You're the only one surprised by this. I don't think anyone else felt jerked around.
SQUIDWARD360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 03:28 PM   #10
ej42137
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 75
All month? You're complaining about waiting a month for something from TiVo? If you plan on staying in this world you'd better adjust your expectations, nubie.
ej42137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 09:03 PM   #11
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 145
couldn't resist

with "keep your eyes open"


Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 11:41 PM   #12
JWhites
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 907
Doctor
JWhites is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 12:15 PM   #13
MacBrian
Registered User
 
MacBrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 83
with "keep your eyes open"

LOL !
__________________
2011: First Tivo Premiere (Ethernet)
2012: Second Tivo Premiere (Ethernet)
2012 Tivo Stream
2011 Slingbox Solo
Series 2 Humax DRT800 (Still in use for VHS->DVD)
Series 1 Philips (Retired)
MacBrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 06:51 PM   #14
ilovedvrs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ej42137 View Post
All month? You're complaining about waiting a month for something from TiVo? If you plan on staying in this world you'd better adjust your expectations, nubie.
No, I have been waiting since day one of Roamio, which was a very long time ago.
__________________
Roamio <- S3 <- S2 <- S1 ( Tivo since 1999 )
ilovedvrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2014, 07:14 PM   #15
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,480
While that can well be true, but your complaint (and associated responses) was about days, not months.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:30 AM   #16
1hodgkry
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Just did a restart on my phone, and when it started up, it said that the Tivo app was waiting for approval to update. IT'S FINALLY HERE!!!


Edit...Great. Already issues. Unauthorized Modifications Detected "Your Tivo streaming device will not work if unauthorized modifications have been made to your Android Phone."

I am not rooted! Galaxy S4

Last edited by 1hodgkry : 09-30-2014 at 01:39 AM.
1hodgkry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:35 AM   #17
hefe
Rebus Philbin
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: On the Front Range
Posts: 27,143
Yup, just got the app update in the Play store.
__________________
These are not the hammer.

Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man
hefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:46 AM   #18
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
Not on Amazon yet, so no Kindel love yet. But if it doesn't show up I'll just side load it.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 01:51 AM   #19
1hodgkry
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Installed it on my Iconia tablet. It says "Made for Phones" when you download it. Will not even open, and asks to update through the Play store.

Play store description "Tivo for Tablets (Obsolete) Version 2.0.0 Updated on September 29, 2014.

Last edited by 1hodgkry : 09-30-2014 at 02:03 AM.
1hodgkry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:10 AM   #20
alarson83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 47
Its gliched for me. It loops between reconnecting and 'set up streaming' dialog before failing out
alarson83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:35 AM   #21
c3
TiVoholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 3,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1hodgkry View Post
Play store description "Tivo for Tablets (Obsolete) Version 2.0.0 Updated on September 29, 2014.
You should install the other one. I just installed and tried it on my Nexus 7.
__________________
TiVo Roamio Plus (10/18/2013): WD30EURS
5 TiVo HDs: WD10EACS, WD1000FYPS, WD10EACS, WD5000ABYS, WD10EADS
Addicted to TiVo since 9/16/2000, all lifetime subs
c3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:41 AM   #22
1hodgkry
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by c3 View Post
You should install the other one. I just installed and tried it on my Nexus 7.
There is not another version available for my Iconia. I am running Ice Cream Sandwich, and that might be the issue. I seem to remember reading something about it only supporting the newest versions of android. I did however get it to run on my Galaxy Tab 3 7".

Still no luck on my unrooted S4.
1hodgkry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 02:49 AM   #23
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,101
I seem to remember them saying it required JellyBean minimum.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 04:25 AM   #24
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,549
Compatible with Android 4.1 (Jellybean) and up with a non-Intel or AMD chipset. I don't know how many x86 Android devices are out there but that sounds like an important distinction... unless it's not.

Also make sure your Stream is up to date if you're pulling it out of the closet and blowing the dust off (ver. 19.1.7.)

Remember your Tivos should be wired if you're using the standalone Stream box.

Is there a different app for phones/tablets? The tablet app is labeled as obsolete on Google Play even though it's dated 9/29.

If there are limitations beyond this, Tivo has yet to specify.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 09-30-2014 at 04:57 AM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 05:52 AM   #25
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 5,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by alarson83 View Post
Its gliched for me. It loops between reconnecting and 'set up streaming' dialog before failing out
That happened for me also. Just needed to restart the app and all was well.
waynomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 05:56 AM   #26
Gadfly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 45
yes, it worked on one of my tablets. On the other one it signed me in, showed me all my tivos to choose a default and then bombed with the message "Unfortunately Tivo has stopped".

Does it really try to connect to mother ship every time you start the app? what's the deal?
Gadfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 07:06 AM   #27
JohnS-MI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE MI
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimOutlaw View Post
Compatible with Android 4.1 (Jellybean) and up with a non-Intel or AMD chipset. I don't know how many x86 Android devices are out there but that sounds like an important distinction... unless it's not.

Also make sure your Stream is up to date if you're pulling it out of the closet and blowing the dust off (ver. 19.1.7.)

Remember your Tivos should be wired if you're using the standalone Stream box.

Is there a different app for phones/tablets? The tablet app is labeled as obsolete on Google Play even though it's dated 9/29.

If there are limitations beyond this, Tivo has yet to specify.
I think the "for phones" designation is now incorrect. It seems to scale and use the display sensibly on both a 7" and 10" tablet. I think they are dropping the special version for tablets. At least that is my impression after updating.

Of course, I have a Roamio Basic and no Stream, so my excitement was misplaced. I had hoped to see if I liked streaming on my larger tablet, but I don't think I am interested enough to buy and set up a Stream.
JohnS-MI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:14 AM   #28
ellinj
Seems Very Friendly
 
ellinj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RI
Posts: 11,074
we need a mod to merge all of these threads.
__________________
Wondering when the next trip to
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
will be ?
ellinj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:54 AM   #29
1hodgkry
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 9
Anyone else getting the "Unauthorized Modifications Detected" on a phone or tablet that is not rooted?
1hodgkry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:54 AM   #30
robsheer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 9
I have an Intel-based Dell Venue 7 and the app is working fine. I think it's the streaming that will probably not work, because they're using CPU level native instructions for streaming. That's too bad cause I was planning on buying the Stream. If anyone with an Intel based tablet gets it to work, please post on here. Thanks.
robsheer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |