TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2015, 11:10 PM   #1
ducker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 455
suggestions on complexity of Roamino Upgrade

I've swapped out the hard drive in my first Tivo - a Series 2, and then when I upgraded to a series 4 - Premier I kicked out the stock drive and replaced that one too..

I'm considering getting a Roamino basic, and not looking to break the bank on a HUGE hard drive (ie. most likely will get a 2TB)

Will this require any imaging as I have had to do with my previous hard drive upgrades? I've checked out a few threads and more of them are discussing steps that are required to take advantage of 3TB - 6TB+ sized drives.

If I splurge and pick up a 4TB hard drive it looks like I can follow the steps in one of the threads here to expand the drive and take full advantage of the size.


Thanks!!

__________________
4 8 15 16 23 42
ducker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 12:44 AM   #2
ducker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 455
looks like I just need this thread....
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=507695

So 3TB and under is just plug and play.... over 3TB and you have to do some fancy work with connecting to a PC and expanding the space...

__________________
4 8 15 16 23 42
ducker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:59 AM   #3
fcfc2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducker View Post
looks like I just need this thread....
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=507695

So 3TB and under is just plug and play.... over 3TB and you have to do some fancy work with connecting to a PC and expanding the space...
Here is the "fancy" work. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=528428
If you can follow the instructions, basically run the software on a Windows computer. Then install the new drive in the tivo and let it boot. Then connect the original and new (6TB) drive to the sata ports of the computer and run the software. When finished, shut down the computer, install new drive in Tivo and power it up....or just stick with a 3TB WD EURX and just install it and let it boot up.

fcfc2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 11:09 AM   #4
fcfc2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 626
delete duplicate

fcfc2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 10:27 PM   #5
gespears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 327
4TB drives are on sale at Newegg for 145

gespears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2015, 09:03 AM   #6
ducker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by gespears View Post
4TB drives are on sale at Newegg for 145
Yea, I think I'd rather pay $40 less for a 3TB drive and not have to bother with all the headache of having to expand the drive.

I'm never more then 65% full on my 2TB premier drive over the past 2 years, so stepping up to 3TB is a strong enough upgrade.

Now just to find a great price on a new 3TB drive.

__________________
4 8 15 16 23 42
ducker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.
Page generated in 0.13486695 seconds (52.10% PHP - 47.90% MySQL) with 18 queries