TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-22-2014, 12:18 PM   #1
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Getting proper lip sync with Roamio

Hey all, have a question about lip sync with my Roamio Pro.

I recently had to replace an AVR that failed and put in a Denon X4000. With the Denon I was noticing that sync was off on my various sources including my TiVo, my PS4 and my HTPC.

Using a calibration disc I was able to get sync working well with the PS4 and the HTPC and incidentally both were at about 80msec.

However, this setting with the TiVo is still not quite right... even accounting for differences in different channels, etc.

I can extract the sync test pattern as an MP4, is there a relatively painless way to get it on the Roamio to get this dialed in properly, or is there another (easier) way to set the sync, such as a channel (Comcast) that displays a lip sync test loop at certain times of day?
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 12:28 PM   #2
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 608
http://sourceforge.net/p/kmttg/wiki/Home/
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 12:31 PM   #3
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomhorsley View Post
Thanks. I've used kmttg but it's been quite a while and I was hoping to avoid having to install/configure software just to set sync properly on the Roamio. Would this require that I transcode my test file from H.264 to MPEG2? I'm concerned that this could possibly alter the timing in the file.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 12:52 PM   #4
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 608
I don't actually know what kmttg does to upload a file or what native formats TiVo can play. I think kmttg only transcodes the file if it believes the native format won't work, but I'm not really sure of any of the details.
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 02:42 PM   #5
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Just wanted to follow-up on this. KMTTG does not push files from a computer to the TiVo. It allows you to download and/or transcode files that you PULL from the TiVo.

To push files requires setting up and configuring pyTiVo which requires downloading and installing a few things like Python, etc. It's all frankly too much of a PITA when all I want to do is play back a simple MPEG4 video on the TiVo.

F# it.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:03 PM   #6
fyodor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 438
Where did you get the calibration disc-I'm looking for something to fix lip sync on my computer-AVR setup.

Pytivo takes like five minutes to set up and is extremely flexible and powerful. It's worth your time.
fyodor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:13 PM   #7
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by fyodor View Post
Where did you get the calibration disc-I'm looking for something to fix lip sync on my computer-AVR setup.

Pytivo takes like five minutes to set up and is extremely flexible and powerful. It's worth your time.
I ordered a copy of Disney's WOW calibration Blu-ray. It includes an advanced setup section and one of the items is an audio/video sync calibration track.

The track features a rotating signal bar with a zero hash mark at both horizontal ends. There is an audio beep that accompanies the rotating signal bar. It has marks on it indicating how many milliseconds the audio is ahead of or behind the video when you hear the beep.

Now I just have to decide if it's worth the headache to transcode it and push it to the Roamio.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:16 PM   #8
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 788
In the past I haven't used any calibration discs. What I've done is make sure my receiver is set to pass-through audio directly to the TV. Then I turn up my TV volume as well as the receiver. I then play something through Tivo and adjust the delay to get it to the point where is sounds in sync.

It's close enough for me ;-)

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:19 PM   #9
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
To push files requires setting up and configuring pyTiVo which requires downloading and installing a few things like Python, etc. It's all frankly too much of a PITA when all I want to do is play back a simple MPEG4 video on the TiVo.

F# it.
Do you have an old copy of the free Tivo desktop? This would allow you to send files back as well without all the hassle of installing python etc.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:19 PM   #10
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
In the past I haven't used any calibration discs. What I've done is make sure my receiver is set to pass-through audio directly to the TV. Then I turn up my TV volume as well as the receiver. I then play something through Tivo and adjust the delay to get it to the point where is sounds in sync.

It's close enough for me ;-)

-Kevin
That's actually not a bad "hack" and I'm rather embarrassed that I have not thought of it.

I might actually give that a try.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:19 PM   #11
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Do you have an old copy of the free Tivo desktop? This would allow you to send files back as well without all the hassle of installing python etc.

-Kevin
I had one ages ago but I'm pretty sure it is now long gone.
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 04:21 PM   #12
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 788
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post
I had one ages ago but I'm pretty sure it is now long gone.
Well PM me if you need a copy of the Windows version.

-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2014, 05:16 PM   #13
jmpage2
Registered User
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Well PM me if you need a copy of the Windows version.

-Kevin
Thanks, PM sent!
jmpage2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |