TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-19-2014, 02:45 PM   #31
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
It is the most likely cause.

Having done it numerous times, I know very well exactly what is involved. It may be a bit tedious, but is far from a "major hassle".
pretty sure it also voids any hope for Tivo helping you with servicing, no?
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 03:06 PM   #32
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
pretty sure it also voids any hope for Tivo helping you with servicing, no?
Since the units are way out of warranty, why is that even a consideration?
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:20 PM   #33
mrsean
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bytez View Post
9. Seems like switching channels is slower than the 7216.

I wish the Tivo gives the user more flexibility and options compared to the 7216. It is a step backwards from it in many ways.
Yeah. Maybe the Roamio is a tad slower at channel surfing as compared to the Motorola 7216, but it is a huge improvement over the Premiere. Why would you expect a Roamio to be faster on Verizon than a box that was specifically built only for use with FIOS?

Tivo DOES gives the user more flexibility and options compared to the 7216. Too bad you are too preoccupied with looking for shortcoming to appreciate them.

Guys, let's post the deficiencies of the Motorola 7216. I guarantee you OP, we could easily past 9. Here, I'll start:

1. No wishlist capability.
2. No way to switch between live buffers
3. Horrible interface to access recorded shows
4. No way to download shows to a PC
5. Reliability issues. My friend has gone through 3 boxes in 2 years.
6. No Netflix

Look, I'm almost up to 9 just by myself. Keep it going guys...
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro/Lifetime/Verizon FIOS
TiVo Roamio Basic/Lifetime/Comcast
TiVo Mini/Lifetime/Comcast

Retired: DirecTiVo, Series 2 DT, TiVo HD, Premiere, Premiere 4, TiVo Stream
mrsean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:52 PM   #34
b_scott
TiVo Fan
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: chicago, il
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
Since the units are way out of warranty, why is that even a consideration?
If I needed anything other than that fixed, I'm pretty sure they'd refuse to touch it.
b_scott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:58 PM   #35
aaronwt
HD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 14,343
Do you have the TiVo set for one resolution output? That is the only way to compare apples to apples with the FiOS box. Since if the TiVo is set for multiple resolutions, it will make channel changing slower. But this has always been the case with HDMI connections.
__________________
Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini x4
Roamio Basic OTA
40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 12:10 AM   #36
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by b_scott View Post
If I needed anything other than that fixed, I'm pretty sure they'd refuse to touch it.
All opening the box does is void the warranty. Usually not even that. It has absolutely no effect on whether or not they (or weaKnees) would be willing to make repairs that you have to pay for.
__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2014, 01:39 PM   #37
davidjplatt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 63
I have FiOS and hate the FiOS DVR compared to my Roamio

I had one of the Cisco DVRs on FiOS with a Cisco STB and Multi-Room enabled. There was a bug in the FiOS software where deleting items from the external SATA drive would leave the programs in the playlist with no way to remove them. if you selected them you would get an error - but the software never cleaned up the playlist and Verizon knew about the issue. They hadn't fixed it in over 18 months.

When the 18 month free period ran out on the FiOS DVR and they wanted $43/month for a DVR and 2 STBs with only two tuners that recorded I replaced them with a TiVo Roamio Pro with 2 Minis. Since I got lifetime with all of the TiVo hardware, it costs me $5 a month instead of $43 - with 6 tuners and a box that never has issues.

And on my Cisco DVR it could take 2 minutes for a menu to come up or for the guide to come up when I hit the button on the remote. The FiOS hardware isn't that great to begin with.
davidjplatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |