TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2015, 09:24 PM   #1
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
Clear and Delete TIVO HD

This TIVO worked perfectly for 7 years, I add Lifetime and sell it for $250 and then I run a Clear and Delete (advice form TIVO) and now its stuck for 3 days, unplug, 2 days, unplug 1 day. Is there a way to fix this?

Thanks, I'll probably refund the buyer and bitch at TIVO to give me my 99 bucks back. Grrr.

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2015, 12:38 AM   #2
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamstring View Post
This TIVO worked perfectly for 7 years, I add Lifetime and sell it for $250 and then I run a Clear and Delete (advice form TIVO) and now its stuck for 3 days, unplug, 2 days, unplug 1 day. Is there a way to fix this?

Thanks, I'll probably refund the buyer and bitch at TIVO to give me my 99 bucks back. Grrr.
Stuck how, exactly? Does it ever get past the "Welcome" screen to the "Just a few more minutes" screen when you plug in the power cord?

Does it eventually leave the welcome screen only to reboot and start the cycle all over again?

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 03:01 PM   #3
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
Hi,

It goes to the "Almost there" screen to the Clear and Delete screen and then it gets a pale color and just sits.

Thanks

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 04:28 PM   #4
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,051
Two primary possibilities, the drive is bad or the power supply is bad. I'd bet on the power supply based upon the model. Both are fixable, depending on the users appetite for fixing (or getting fixed).

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 10:16 PM   #5
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamstring View Post
Hi,

It goes to the "Almost there" screen to the Clear and Delete screen and then it gets a pale color and just sits.

Thanks
Okay, you plug it in, and the Welcome screen comes up, and then at some point later than 60 seconds after that, you get the "Just a few more minutes" screen and then exactly what happens?

(your use of the phrase "Clear and Delete screen" is a little confusing, as, if you've already run C&DE, it should have successfully completed that and then dumped you at the start of Guided Setup)

I have seen a TiVo (connected to an SD TV via the yellow jack composite video connection) go from the first Welcome screen to a featureless gray screen, which indicated a partial communication with the hard drive, but not good enough to get the Just a few more minutes screen to load, but I've never seen it get beyond that second screen to something else and then go to a blank screen.

Is that the original 160GB drive still in there?

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 12:32 AM   #6
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
I've never seen it get beyond that second screen to something else and then go to a blank screen.
I've seen a TiVo do that when it somehow decided to go into standby right after boot. I spent a while trying to figure it out before I hit a key on the remote and it woke up.

I'm not saying that's the problem here, but anything is possible.

Arcady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 02:57 AM   #7
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady View Post
I've seen a TiVo do that when it somehow decided to go into standby right after boot. I spent a while trying to figure it out before I hit a key on the remote and it woke up.

I'm not saying that's the problem here, but anything is possible.
Which is why one should never put the TiVo into standby just before disconnecting the power, opening it up, and making a backup image, because the image written to new drive will go right into standy mode and you'll have forgotten by then that the image was from a TiVo on standby.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 05:07 PM   #8
djl25
C64 hacker
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 94
Why not try doing a Kickstart 52? See if it will do an emergency operating system reinstall. It can't hurt, seeing as you've done a C&DE already anyway. Details here: http://www.weaknees.com/tivo-kickstart-codes.php

djl25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 02:36 AM   #9
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,312
Or maybe even a KS 58

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 02:40 PM   #10
mchief
Morey
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 313
Having the same problem? Stuck on clear and delete - for the past 4 hours - Now what?

After 5 hours, finally the start guided setup, so all is well.

__________________
Tivo Roamio Plus 2TB WD20EARS (SA M-Card)
Tivo Mini
Tivo HD 1TB WD10EVCS (SA M-Card)
Tivo HD 1TB WD10EADS (SA M-Card)
SAMSUNG HDTV LN55B650
Hitachi HDTV 42HDS69

Last edited by mchief; 01-17-2015 at 10:48 PM..
mchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:09 PM   #11
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
My clear and delete never finished. When I unplug to reboot, it goes to the Welcome Screen, the Almost There screen and back to the clear and delete screen.

Thanks

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:42 PM   #12
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
The 52 code didn't do anything, 57 kick sit into the green screen, so that's different. I'll report back.

Thanks

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 10:52 PM   #13
Hamstring
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 10
Tivo keeps rebooting to Welcome screen then to Green screen. Not sure what to make of it now.

Hamstring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 03:23 PM   #14
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 14,312
You could try KS51, just to see if it does anything.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.
Page generated in 0.08058596 seconds (80.28% PHP - 19.72% MySQL) with 18 queries