TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 05-06-2014, 06:51 PM   #1
ustavio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 124
Pause Ad Redeux

Has anyone else noticed that the pause ads have changed in appearance and, perhaps, content? The big clunky rectangle that obscured the lower 34.7% of my screen has been replaced by a thinner strip that runs the length of the pause bar. It is far less intrusive and annoying than the previous monstrosity. Design wise it doesn't scream in your face "Look at me.....Now....because we hate you". The new one is more like "hey, I'm here, just in case, you know, you wanna check me out, just sayin'" in presentation. Also, as far as content, the showcase ads linked to are not videos but (so far) just textual. SPSPS doesn't work on text to my knowledge.

The new approach doesn't drive me up the wall like the previous one did. Although I'm still not enamored with ads popping up every single time I pause, if I must live with them, this is a vast improvement IMHO.

I just noticed these things in the last day or two but I got the latest software update very early on, so I'm not sure how or when the change occurred.
ustavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:01 PM   #2
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,259
I barely noticed since I use the SPSPS backdoor that hides pause ads quickly, but yes it looks more like the original SDUI version now from the brief instant I've seen it.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 07:03 PM   #3
mrizzo80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 326
Just looked... I'm seeing both versions right now. Maybe they are doing A/B testing.
mrizzo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 08:30 PM   #4
astrohip
Stuart F
 
astrohip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston & Brenham TX
Posts: 7,527
Just noticed it for the first time tonight. I watch too much TiVo, so I'm guessing it just started today for me.
astrohip is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2014, 11:12 PM   #5
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 31,165
I saw this a few days ago. I assumed this came with the spring update.
LoadStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:21 AM   #6
CoxInPHX
COX Communications
 
CoxInPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,414
What is strange is that the new Pause Ad has the old style yellow wiener outline, that the Roamio UI no longer uses?
__________________
Roamio Pro, XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, & Mini, 20.4.5c, w/ Cisco SDV TA, FW F.2001, Cisco CC FW PKEY1.5.3_F.p.1301

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

CoxInPHX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 01:39 AM   #7
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,259
It's a mixed bag for me looks like. Some shows show the SDUI skinny version, some the horribly big HDUI monstrosity that even though only shows for a split second bothers me.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 04:44 PM   #8
davezatz
Funkadelic
 
davezatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 4,320
Maybe they're A/B testing. Or maybe one is cheaper for advertisers than another or specific to a certain kind of promotion.
davezatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 06:37 PM   #9
LoadStar
LOAD"*",8,1
 
LoadStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 31,165
I've only seen the skinny one on mine, and I've seen several promotions cycle through it (24 on FOX, Charmin, and 1800Flowers, I believe, along with a TiVo promotion of some sort).
LoadStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |