TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 05-07-2014, 12:06 PM   #31
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Just because I love testing these things, I went and pulled the coax on both my Tivos:

Roamio Plus coax plugged in:
Signal: 100%
SNR: ~41dB
OOB SNR: ~35dB

Roamio Plus coax UNplugged:
Signal: -
SNR: ~17db (although saw one jump to 29dB)
OOB SNR: ~3-4dB

------

Roamio Basic coax plugged in:
Signal: 92-95%
SNR: ~37dB
OOB SNR: ~400dB (not sure why the Basic shows this number)

Roamio Basic coax UNplugged:
Signal: -
SNR: ~9-15db
OOB SNR: ~44-47dB

-Kevin
I'm going to have to defer analysis of these results to somebody who remembers what thread this was covered in.

Either I don't know the "secret" to searching TCF, or I just suck at it...

The truth is out there. ...somewhere...

Next time I have the opportunity to check mine, I will. I'll probably stick a terminator on the input to eliminate any stray RF that might get in (although, this was not a specified prerequisite in the thread I'm recalling).
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!

Last edited by nooneuknow : 05-07-2014 at 05:04 PM. Reason: typo/grammar
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 06:05 PM   #32
kbmb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by nooneuknow View Post
I'm going to have to defer analysis of these results to somebody who remembers what thread this was covered in.

Either I don't know the "secret" to searching TCF, or I just suck at it...

The truth is out there. ...somewhere...

Next time I have the opportunity to check mine, I will. I'll probably stick a terminator on the input to eliminate any stray RF that might get in (although, this was not a specified prerequisite in the thread I'm recalling).
Maybe this is the thread you were thinking of:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=514853

Based on 1 person saying Tivo said it was defective and they got it RMA'd....although I'm not sure I would trust much of what Tivo support says. These days they generally tend to be mostly clueless.

I notice back then I also pulled the coax on my Tivos and reported the numbers.....although see numbers are a little off because I had an old setup.

Would be curious to see others if they have a SNR when the cable is pulled. Again....I'm not having issues so not sure what the difference is.


-Kevin
kbmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2014, 06:29 PM   #33
triftraf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
I was one of the people that had their Roamio Pro's RMA'd. The new Roamio actually showed even higher SNR and ended up requiring MORE attenuation/splitters to get the signal strength and SNR low enough. It seemed more sensitive to the problem than the first one. The first one ran beautifully for a week before issues started showing up - whereas the new one did all sorts of weird stuff (lagging, losing signal, rebooting and not starting up, etc) without attenuating...

Both units (the RMA'd one and the new one) show SNR when the cable is disconnected... And thus I don't believe the first unit needed to be RMA'd...
triftraf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2014, 12:27 AM   #34
nooneuknow
TiVo User Since 2007
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cox Cable Market, NV
Posts: 2,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbmb View Post
Maybe this is the thread you were thinking of:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=514853

Based on 1 person saying Tivo said it was defective and they got it RMA'd....although I'm not sure I would trust much of what Tivo support says. These days they generally tend to be mostly clueless.

I notice back then I also pulled the coax on my Tivos and reported the numbers.....although see numbers are a little off because I had an old setup.

Would be curious to see others if they have a SNR when the cable is pulled. Again....I'm not having issues so not sure what the difference is.


-Kevin
That's not the one I was thinking of. I also wouldn't consider a one-off report from one person to be reliable enough to base an opinion on that I'd repeat.

Until I spot what else I've seen again, or somebody else finds it, I'm kind of dead-in-the-water on any meaning of the "disconnected cable test".

I swear there was a thread where the test resulted in a few people getting RMAs. I'd be hesitant to RMA one of my own, unless I was certain it needed to be replaced. I'm not feeling to confident that this "test" proves much.

I'll still report back when I get a chance to try it on my 3 base Roamios. I'll be doing:

1. Base reading, for each tuner.
2. Pulled coax cable readings.
3. Readings with terminator on input.
4. Readings after a reboot.

I'd add 5. Readings w/o cablecard inserted. But, they are hard to get to on base models.
__________________
Cisco tuning adapters should never be used inline (using the TA coax OUT port) to connect a TiVo, if MoCA is in use. Use a splitter w/PoE filter on leg to TA, use other leg for the TiVo. Enjoy!
nooneuknow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |