TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2015, 10:40 AM   #1
MyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 330
Dish Network & Roamio Basic Compatability

In order to save $$ I need to drop Comcast Triple Play and am considering Dish Network. I have a Roamio Basic with the WD My Book external hard drive (which I probably don't need as my recorded space rarely exceeds 25%).

I would love to hear from anyone who is currently using Roamio + Dish Network.

I have already viewed these topics:

Hooking my TiVo up with Dish Network, plus a couple of other questions (from Feb 2010)

Tivo vs. Hopper (from Sep 2013)

__________________
"When it's time to whack me, just tell me which corner to stand on so innocents don't catch a stray."

G. Gordon Liddy
MyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 10:47 AM   #2
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,283
Incompatible. Though since you have a basic unit you can use it for OTA.

__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:04 AM   #3
MyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 330
OTA is incompatible with my metal manufactured home

__________________
"When it's time to whack me, just tell me which corner to stand on so innocents don't catch a stray."

G. Gordon Liddy
MyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:15 AM   #4
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyM3 View Post
OTA is incompatible with my metal manufactured home
? An outside antenna should still work.

__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:43 AM   #5
MyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Kenmore, Wa.
Posts: 330
Not the last one I tried. Besides, there is not enough OTA programming that interests me.

__________________
"When it's time to whack me, just tell me which corner to stand on so innocents don't catch a stray."

G. Gordon Liddy
MyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 04:13 PM   #6
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,502
TC CLUB MEMBER
The last Tivo that worked with Dish or DTV was the series 2.

The link about Dish and Tivo are out of date and no longer applies to Tivo after Series 2. Series 3, Premiere, Roamio are specifically designed to work only with cable or OTA. There are no workarounds either.

__________________
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "652")
Roamio! Oh, wait, Its Juliet!
OTA! OTA! OTA!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 05:11 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 29,636
TC CLUB MEMBER
Well there is one very crude work around. You could buy an ATSC modulator (expensive) and connect that to the Dish receiver, then feed that into the TiVo and do manual recordings on whatever channel the modulator outputs. However you wouldn't get accurate guide data (it would be set to whatever was on that OTA channel) and you'd have to manually tune the receiver to the proper channel, so it wouldn't really work well as a DVR.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 05:47 PM   #8
krkaufman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by MyM3 View Post
In order to save $$ I need to drop Comcast Triple Play and am considering Dish Network.
Who's your Internet provider? It's difficult to imagine you couldn't get a Double Play (Internet+TV) package from Comcast that wouldn't be cheaper than Comcast Internet + DISH TV.

krkaufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 09:02 PM   #9
atmuscarella
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 4,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Well there is one very crude work around. You could buy an ATSC modulator (expensive) and connect that to the Dish receiver, then feed that into the TiVo and do manual recordings on whatever channel the modulator outputs. However you wouldn't get accurate guide data (it would be set to whatever was on that OTA channel) and you'd have to manually tune the receiver to the proper channel, so it wouldn't really work well as a DVR.
Actually under dish's current promotions I don't think it is even possible to get anything but a hopper DVR - the current promotion gives you the DVR for "Free" and waves the DVR service fee for 1 or 2 years (depending on what promotion you take). Didn't see any option to down grade to a receiver only.

__________________
atmuscarella
R.I.P. - 04/04 - Dish 510
09/05 - Humax T-800
R.I.P. - 08/06 - TiVo
05/08 - TiVo HD
06/08 - Panasonic 50PZ800U 50" Plazma!!
03/10 - Series 3
11/10 - Premiere
09/13 - Roamio
atmuscarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 10:10 AM   #10
ncted
A leaf on the wind
 
ncted's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by atmuscarella View Post
Actually under dish's current promotions I don't think it is even possible to get anything but a hopper DVR - the current promotion gives you the DVR for "Free" and waves the DVR service fee for 1 or 2 years (depending on what promotion you take). Didn't see any option to down grade to a receiver only.
You can still do it. You just need to call or deal with a reseller. Although, if you are willing to pay for Dish, just take the Hopper. It is quite good.

__________________
Roamio OTA with 2TB drive and 1 Mini
ncted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:28 PM   #11
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 29,636
TC CLUB MEMBER
It's a terrible solution anyway. The ATSC modulator alone is going to cost a couple hundred bucks and the functionality you'll get is essentially a digital VCR. You're much better off just using their DVR and selling the TiVo if you decide to switch.

__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 01:42 PM   #12
HarperVision
Registered User
 
HarperVision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
It's a terrible solution anyway. The ATSC modulator alone is going to cost a couple hundred bucks and the functionality you'll get is essentially a digital VCR. You're much better off just using their DVR and selling the TiVo if you decide to switch.
What I was going to do with my QAM modulator was connect the DirecTV DVR (hopefully the THR22 TiVo for some basic consistency) to it and make that a "channel" for my Roamio OTA which will be hooked up to my antenna getting the networks. 90% of what we record is off the networks as we aren't big cable channel fans, but there are a select few shows we like.

This way the DirecTiVo records all the cable type shows as well as the real #1 reason, my NFL Sunday Ticket games and they're waiting for us on that DVR. We would mainly use the Roamio for watching most shows on networks and all the streaming options but when we want to watch cable show recordings or Sunday football, we tune the Roamio to the DirecTV channel and grab the RF remote for that and just operate that as you would if it were directly connected to the TV and play the recordings from that.

If I really like the show in watching on directv then I can manually record it on the Roamio and archive as needed.

I haven't implemented it yet, but I'm brainstorming since we are so close to football season and I'm getting VERY antsy wondering how I'm going to watch all my games!!!

__________________
Dave Harper
Director, Event Technology
ISF, CTS
HarperVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.
Page generated in 0.06338501 seconds (78.06% PHP - 21.94% MySQL) with 18 queries