TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2011, 05:42 PM   #1
calva70
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 22
Slide Remote stopped working

So in September of 2010 I bought one of the Tivo Slider remotes. I have loved having it, and I am now a little upset.

I was watching something that I recorded and at the end of the show I tried select the delete program option and that remote didn't do anything. I changed the batteries, leaving them out for several minutes, and it still wouldn't work.

So I called Tivo support and he walked me through repairing, global reset, and tivo reset, all with no luck.

The warranty is only 90 days on the remote, and with the remote lasting only about 8 months I do see any incentive to buy a new one. The guy I talked to didn't offer any kind of deal on a new one, or anything. So boo to Tivo.
calva70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:29 PM   #2
Resist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,713
Does the remote light up when you open the keypad or press a button?

Yes it sucks that the warranty is only 90 days, but it's that way for many electronics. I have never had a remote go bad on its own before. I also get upset with Tivo as a company for not giving customers better deals when their products fail, so I understand your frustration.

I'd keep checking Amazon and even do a www.camelcamelcamel.com watch for price reductions on the Slide. You never know when a great deal might come along, like when I got a Slide for $12 new.

Last edited by Resist : 06-01-2011 at 06:34 PM.
Resist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:25 PM   #3
tunarollz
Jon at TiVo
 
tunarollz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 57
what symptoms are you seeing on your slide? does it show any sign of life at all?
__________________
Jon
tunarollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 05:40 AM   #4
gostan
Registered User
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 79
My slide remote stopped working with my Premiere a few days ago. I reset the Premiere and now the slide works, except I can no longer control my AV volume no matter what I do.
__________________
Tivo HD (1 TB) w/Lifetime
Tivo Premier (2 TB) w/Lifetime
gostan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 09:06 AM   #5
SpiritualPoet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 568
I read in a previous thread that in some units the connecting multi-pin wire that joins the slide out keyboard to the remainder of the remote control might break over time. I hardly ever slide mine open to use with the TiVo search feature. I use my slide remote solely as the remote to control my TiVo for playing back programs (or programming with it as if it was the regular TiVo remote). Of course that's not why it was made but since it fits perfectly in my hand, I like it so much better.

Last edited by SpiritualPoet : 06-02-2011 at 09:53 AM.
SpiritualPoet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 02:01 PM   #6
tunarollz
Jon at TiVo
 
tunarollz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by gostan View Post
My slide remote stopped working with my Premiere a few days ago. I reset the Premiere and now the slide works, except I can no longer control my AV volume no matter what I do.
Try going through the remote learning process again? You shouldn't have to, but might be worth a shot
__________________
Jon
tunarollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 04:35 PM   #7
gostan
Registered User
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunarollz View Post
Try going through the remote learning process again? You shouldn't have to, but might be worth a shot
Unfortuanely, this still provides no volume. Everything now works, except the volume. But without volume control the slide is almost useless.
__________________
Tivo HD (1 TB) w/Lifetime
Tivo Premier (2 TB) w/Lifetime
gostan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:13 PM   #8
tunarollz
Jon at TiVo
 
tunarollz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 57
does the slide's activity light flash when you press the volume keys? how long have you had your slide?
__________________
Jon
tunarollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 06:24 AM   #9
gostan
Registered User
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by tunarollz View Post
does the slide's activity light flash when you press the volume keys? how long have you had your slide?
Blue light flashes on my slide when I press volume button. I have had the Slide since the initial week of release.
__________________
Tivo HD (1 TB) w/Lifetime
Tivo Premier (2 TB) w/Lifetime
gostan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 04:19 PM   #10
tunarollz
Jon at TiVo
 
tunarollz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 57
have you called support?

A global reset on the slide might be worth a shot. realize that if you do that though, you'll need to pair with your BT dongle again and reprogram any learned functions
__________________
Jon
tunarollz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 06:26 PM   #11
gostan
Registered User
 
gostan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 79
Jon

I did a global reset and repaired the slide. Still no volume. Unfortunately (or fortunately, right now, I am too busy to find extra time to call support.
__________________
Tivo HD (1 TB) w/Lifetime
Tivo Premier (2 TB) w/Lifetime
gostan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 09:50 AM   #12
aprigliano
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
I think I know what is wrong with the Slide remote

I needed to post this somewhere because I was happy to be able to fix mine, yet, sad to find out the the build quality on the Slide was so poor. This is a case of where a dab of hot glue during construction would have saved this product and many headaches for people who own one.

There is a small daughter board in this remote that sits above the battery compartment. This board is only connected by a 20 pin (guess) connecter and nothing else. Over time the daughter board, which is the heart of the device, becomes loose - explaining the loss of functionality over time, then death when the board becomes disconnected. You may hear it rattle, if it becomes completely disconnected, when you shake your remote.

The daughter board needs to be reseated or reconnected. You can get to it if you remove the one small screw on the bottom of the battery compartment and work your way up the edge of the case carefully with a screwdriver till you remove the bottom of the case. With the back off, you should see the daughter board, either coming off, or completely disconnected. If it is still connected, press firmly at the socket end to reseat, and, optionally tape it or, for the more adventurous, dab some hot glue on the edge to hold it down. Then put the back back on.

If it is completely off - find the socket and plug it back in - the body of the daughter board covers over the LED and is not oriented in the direction of the batteries. You may then have to contend with the small rectangular magnets that can come loose. There are these small rectangular holes on the right side on the edge where these magnets fit. With the remote closed while the back is off, try and fit the magnets back in. If they are oriented wrong they will not stay. Use a screwdriver for them to stick to while you slide the magnets back in. Again, hot glue would have been nice during construction, but who takes their stuff apart, really.

I hope this helps some of you. Post back with your results!

Last edited by aprigliano : 06-22-2012 at 10:06 AM.
aprigliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 08:33 AM   #13
plcousins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
This worked perfectly. I wonder how many TiVo slide remotes are affected. This was the second one for me with this issue. Thanks!
plcousins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:33 PM   #14
CAG45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 27
I tried taking it apart, based on the insrtuctions below. I put it back together, but no luck...

In my case, the slide out keyboard works just fine (not just the letters, but also the select and arrow keys); however, nothing on the "main" part of the remote works.

Several people mentioned a "global reset". How does one do a global reset?

thanks
CAG45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:42 AM   #15
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG45 View Post
I tried taking it apart, based on the insrtuctions below. I put it back together, but no luck...

In my case, the slide out keyboard works just fine (not just the letters, but also the select and arrow keys); however, nothing on the "main" part of the remote works.

Several people mentioned a "global reset". How does one do a global reset?

thanks
http://support.tivo.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/293

To perform a global reset of your remote control, perform the following steps:

1. Cover the end of the TiVo remote control with your hand.

2. Press the TiVo button and the TV POWER button simultaneously until the red light (amber light for Premiere boxes) comes on.

NOTE: If you have a Premiere, Glo, or Slide remote, the light will be yellow.

3. Press Thumbs-DOWN 3 times, followed by ENTER. The red light (amber light for Premiere boxes) on the remote should go out (if it does not, repeat this step).

NOTE: If the incorrect button is pressed, press Clear to start over.

4. Remove your hand from the end of the TiVo remote control.

5. Pair the remote to its USB receiver.

To pair your TiVo Slide remote with its USB receiver:

1. Make sure the USB receiver is installed in the USB port on the back of the TiVo box.

NOTE: You will need to press a button on the USB receiver during the pairing process. If necessary, relocate the USB receiver to make it easier to reach. To do this, insert the male end of the supplied USB extension cable into a USB port on the TiVo box, insert the USB receiver into the female end of the extension cable, and then place the USB receiver near the front of the TiVo box.

2. On the TiVo Slide remote, press and hold the TiVo button and the blue "B" button simultaneously until the activity indicator light blinks blue.

3. On the USB receiver, press and hold the button until the LED starts blinking.

4. After a few seconds, the remote's activity light will blink rapidly 5 times and then go off if pairing is successful. (If pairing is unsuccessful, repeat steps 2 and 3.)
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 03:27 PM   #16
rmerikle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Wow thank you so much. I literally pulled my slide from the trash and then took it apart to find the daughter board disconnected completely. Reconnected the daughter board and now works perfectly. You just have to love Google and groups like this.
rmerikle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:23 PM   #17
rickbumpus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 5
Mine stopped working and the blue light came on. I have since changed batteries twice and each time it lasts about two weeks. I have not performed the global reset as it works fully (IR) with the batteries. Did your blue light come on? Wondering if this is the same or different issue.

Side note, it appears TiVo doesn't sell anymore. Anyone know if that's true or why? It was the only QWERTY option that really helps with search.
rickbumpus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 02:51 PM   #18
jrtroo
User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,516
Follow the instructions to take it apart. One screw.

Yes, the slide is discontinued. Many hope for an enhanced replacement being offered.

Any qwerty keyboard will work. I used to use one designed for a gaming console before going all in with the slide.
__________________
TiVo Owner
jrtroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 06:56 PM   #19
dheerema
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 72
Thank you for fixing my Slide. This worked perfect.

This worked perfectly to fix my slide. I was going to throw it away...






Quote:
Originally Posted by aprigliano View Post
I needed to post this somewhere because I was happy to be able to fix mine, yet, sad to find out the the build quality on the Slide was so poor. This is a case of where a dab of hot glue during construction would have saved this product and many headaches for people who own one.

There is a small daughter board in this remote that sits above the battery compartment. This board is only connected by a 20 pin (guess) connecter and nothing else. Over time the daughter board, which is the heart of the device, becomes loose - explaining the loss of functionality over time, then death when the board becomes disconnected. You may hear it rattle, if it becomes completely disconnected, when you shake your remote.

The daughter board needs to be reseated or reconnected. You can get to it if you remove the one small screw on the bottom of the battery compartment and work your way up the edge of the case carefully with a screwdriver till you remove the bottom of the case. With the back off, you should see the daughter board, either coming off, or completely disconnected. If it is still connected, press firmly at the socket end to reseat, and, optionally tape it or, for the more adventurous, dab some hot glue on the edge to hold it down. Then put the back back on.

If it is completely off - find the socket and plug it back in - the body of the daughter board covers over the LED and is not oriented in the direction of the batteries. You may then have to contend with the small rectangular magnets that can come loose. There are these small rectangular holes on the right side on the edge where these magnets fit. With the remote closed while the back is off, try and fit the magnets back in. If they are oriented wrong they will not stay. Use a screwdriver for them to stick to while you slide the magnets back in. Again, hot glue would have been nice during construction, but who takes their stuff apart, really.

I hope this helps some of you. Post back with your results!

dheerema is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 09:03 PM   #20
phorner@mchsi.co
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
This worked for me too. The board had come loose and I reconnected it. I had to reprogram the remote to control the tv volume. Thanks for this info...Saved me $$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by aprigliano View Post
I needed to post this somewhere because I was happy to be able to fix mine, yet, sad to find out the the build quality on the Slide was so poor. This is a case of where a dab of hot glue during construction would have saved this product and many headaches for people who own one.

There is a small daughter board in this remote that sits above the battery compartment. This board is only connected by a 20 pin (guess) connecter and nothing else. Over time the daughter board, which is the heart of the device, becomes loose - explaining the loss of functionality over time, then death when the board becomes disconnected. You may hear it rattle, if it becomes completely disconnected, when you shake your remote.

The daughter board needs to be reseated or reconnected. You can get to it if you remove the one small screw on the bottom of the battery compartment and work your way up the edge of the case carefully with a screwdriver till you remove the bottom of the case. With the back off, you should see the daughter board, either coming off, or completely disconnected. If it is still connected, press firmly at the socket end to reseat, and, optionally tape it or, for the more adventurous, dab some hot glue on the edge to hold it down. Then put the back back on.

If it is completely off - find the socket and plug it back in - the body of the daughter board covers over the LED and is not oriented in the direction of the batteries. You may then have to contend with the small rectangular magnets that can come loose. There are these small rectangular holes on the right side on the edge where these magnets fit. With the remote closed while the back is off, try and fit the magnets back in. If they are oriented wrong they will not stay. Use a screwdriver for them to stick to while you slide the magnets back in. Again, hot glue would have been nice during construction, but who takes their stuff apart, really.

I hope this helps some of you. Post back with your results!

phorner@mchsi.co is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2014, 10:56 AM   #21
guitarguymike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4
Add me to the list of those whose remotes were fixed by reseating the board. Thanks so much for posting the fix!
guitarguymike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |