TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2014, 09:51 PM   #1
mobilelawyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 24
With Windows 9, Microsoft may finally forget the past and embrace the future

Am I just panic prone, or is Microsoft about to set a course with Windows 9 that leaves the video hobbiest out in the cold?

"Interestingly, Windows 9 might not include a “Desktop for running legacy Win32 apps,” according to “previous tips,” and will be updated “frequently and regularly” via the Windows Store."

Say good bye to Win 32 apps?

I am more inclined to shout "Say it ain't so!" First they abandon development of Windows Media Center.Now, I suppose we can say goodbye to TiVo Desktop software, VideoReDo, Total Media Theatre, Showbiz, Mediabrowser and a ton of other programs that are not 64 bit programs.

I am going to have to start looking at other OS options.
mobilelawyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 10:19 PM   #2
alansh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,175
Little early to panic -- Win8 will be supported through January 10, 2023.

I think it's almost certain that Win8 will be the last that runs on 32-bit CPUs, but I kinda doubt they'll ditch Win32 compatibility entirely. They still haven't released a Visual Studio development kit that runs natively in 64 bit.

Heck, the 32 bit edition of Windows 8 will still run 16 bit programs.
alansh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 01:35 AM   #3
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
It would take a bit of work but we'll get VideoReDo running on 64bit if we have to.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 07:04 AM   #4
mr.unnatural
Registered User
 
mr.unnatural's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,701
This may be the kick in the pants that software developers need to put out their programs in 64-bit. There's really no reason to be running 32-bit Windows on a PC anymore, especially with the current legacy support for 64-bit apps. 64-bit has been around for quite some time, but developers have been dragging their feet putting out their apps in 64-bit format.

By the time Windows 9 rolls out, a lot of us will probably be thinking about a PC upgrade anyway. There's a certain percentage of PC sales that are directly related to the new release of a Windows OS (just don't ask me what it is ). If you still need 32-bit support, hang onto that old PC to use on special occasions. If it's running XP, just disconnect it from the internet and you'll be fine.
mr.unnatural is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:00 AM   #5
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Moving apps to 64-bit is not a simple recompile and done, it does take work. And if you don't need the extra memory, why do you think they would want to take the time and money to do it?
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:13 AM   #6
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Moving apps to 64-bit is not a simple recompile and done, it does take work. And if you don't need the extra memory, why do you think they would want to take the time and money to do it?
Actually, it is a simple recompile and done if the apps was written well instead of being filled with bad assumptions like ints and pointers being the same size. I've seen vast amounts of code port from 32 to 64 bit with zero effort (and, of course, equally vast amounts of code that didn't :-).
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:14 AM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Moving apps to 64-bit is not a simple recompile and done, it does take work. And if you don't need the extra memory, why do you think they would want to take the time and money to do it?
Exactly. For VRD it's not just our own code either. We use a lot of external libraries (i.e. codecs, muxers, etc...) that would either need to be upgraded or replaced.

In reality most apps don't need 64bit, so forcing them to upgrade is a bit heavy handed and likely to piss off more people then it benefits.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:17 AM   #8
tomhorsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Exactly. For VRD it's not just our own code either. We use a lot of external libraries (i.e. codecs, muxers, etc...) that would either need to be upgraded or replaced.
Actually video codes is a really good reason to want to go to 64 bits, not for more memory, but for twice as many vector registers being available in the 64 bit x86 architecture. Certainly the ffmpeg software takes advantage of that for most of their codecs.
tomhorsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 10:24 AM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
We've done testing with 64bit and it only makes a marginal difference when it comes to encoding speed. And for smart edits it makes zero difference, because the process is mostly I/O bound.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 01:48 PM   #10
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Anyone that claims porting a lot of legacy code to 64-bit is trivial really hasn't done a lot of code porting, IMO (not looking at you Tom, in general). And more importantly, there is little to no benefit in doing so for the vast majority of apps out there. Wasn't Office still 32-bit until 2010 came out? And even now, there's not much need for a 64-bit version of it.

The notion that Win9 won't support 32-bit apps is a non-starter, IMO.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 02:57 PM   #11
hoyty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowbiscuit View Post
Wasn't Office still 32-bit until 2010 came out? And even now, there's not much need for a 64-bit version of it.

The notion that Win9 won't support 32-bit apps is a non-starter, IMO.
Actually Office 2013 is still 32 bit predominantly as well. The only thing that has 64-bit option is Access and Excel I think. Further MS recommends not installing 64-bit versions unless you actually need it due to compatibility.

They are bringing back the start menu in Windows 9, they showed a screen shot of it yesterday, which is for desktop users who will most likely be using legacy apps. Why would they do that and drop 32-bit.

Don't believe it.
hoyty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:01 PM   #12
stahta01
Simple Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana (USA)
Posts: 3,305
I think they will likely only be a 64 bit OS; but, still run 32 bit apps.

That is just my wild guess.

Tim S.
__________________
Schlock Mercenary Maxim 41: "Do you have a backup?" means "I can't fix this" (4 October 2013)
stahta01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:09 PM   #13
hoyty
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sammamish, WA
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by stahta01 View Post
I think they will likely only be a 64 bit OS; but, still run 32 bit apps.
Yep, probably ARM based RT for Phone / Small tablet and 64 bit only x86-64 for laptop / desktop / server. They dropped 32-bit version of server 5 years ago. The 32-bit version of 8(.1) existed mostly for really low end x86 tablets which are slowly going away.
hoyty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:23 PM   #14
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoyty View Post
They are bringing back the start menu in Windows 9, they showed a screen shot of it yesterday, which is for desktop users who will most likely be using legacy apps.
Cool!


Looks like the trend of every other major version being a winner will continue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stahta01 View Post
I think they will likely only be a 64 bit OS; but, still run 32 bit apps.
That makes much more sense.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:27 PM   #15
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan203 View Post
Cool!


Looks like the trend of every other major version being a winner will continue.



That makes much more sense.
On my Windows 8.1 I use a $5 program from Stardock that gives the same thing, start button and much more, makes Windows 8.1 look like windows 7.
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #16
poppagene
User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilelawyer View Post
Am I just panic prone, or is Microsoft about to set a course with Windows 9 that leaves the video hobbiest out in the cold?

"Interestingly, Windows 9 might not include a “Desktop for running legacy Win32 apps,” according to “previous tips,” and will be updated “frequently and regularly” via the Windows Store."

Say good bye to Win 32 apps?

I am more inclined to shout "Say it ain't so!" First they abandon development of Windows Media Center.Now, I suppose we can say goodbye to TiVo Desktop software, VideoReDo, Total Media Theatre, Showbiz, Mediabrowser and a ton of other programs that are not 64 bit programs.

I am going to have to start looking at other OS options.
LIkely this was just an April Fools posting
poppagene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 03:28 PM   #17
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
I use that too. (Start8) I also use ModernMix which allows you to run Metro apps in a Window, which Win9 will also do. So I guess a few of their apps are going to get less useful once this lands.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:16 PM   #18
cherry ghost
Registered User
 
cherry ghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,237
They're bringing back the start menu before 9

http://www.extremetech.com/computing...ndows-8-update
cherry ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 04:21 PM   #19
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 25,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry ghost View Post
They're bringing back the start menu before 9

http://www.extremetech.com/computing...ndows-8-update
Quote:
You may have noticed that we keep mentioning that these changes are coming in a future update — that’s because, unfortunately, that’s all the data Microsoft has given us. The Start menu is not being resurrected for Windows 8.1 Update 1 (due on April 8) — rather, there will be another update at some nebulous point in the future that will bring it back, along with windowed Metro feature, and presumably some other changes as well. We had originally heard that the Start menu wouldn’t be coming back until Windows 9, but perhaps its priority has been bumped up a bit — or, more likely, the exact product name/number is in flux. Given Windows 8′s poor adoption and tarnished reputation, I wouldn’t be surprised if Microsoft rushes to release Windows 9 — but who knows, maybe it will stick to its guns and push out Windows 8.1 Update 2 later this year.
Not necessarily.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 06:23 PM   #20
truman861
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 88
I've always said the day Microsift makes something that doesnt suck will be the day they start selling vacuum cleaners
truman861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 07:58 AM   #21
slowbiscuit
FUBAR
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 2,723
Yeah, take your trolls somewhere else please. Plenty of MS stuff does not suck.
slowbiscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 07:41 PM   #22
moyekj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 9,300
Linux systems we use at work have been 64 bit for a long, long time but also have 32 bit compatibility for older programs that are not 64 bit, so as mentioned highly doubtful it's going to be a problem for MSFT.
__________________
Roamio Pro, Elite, Premiere
Cox - Motorola CableCards & TAs
Slingbox 350 via TiVo Mini & TiVo Stream for remote viewing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
moyekj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 06:56 PM   #23
lessd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 6,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by moyekj View Post
Linux systems we use at work have been 64 bit for a long, long time but also have 32 bit compatibility for older programs that are not 64 bit, so as mentioned highly doubtful it's going to be a problem for MSFT.
Unless Windows 9 is going to 128 bits ??? Is anybody working on 128 bit hardware ??
__________________
Les Daniels

_____________________________________________
3 Roamio Plus upgraded to 2Tb & 3Tb, and 2 Minis,
lessd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |