TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2014, 04:37 PM   #1
jimlau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Clock Not Right

I have series 4 premiere. the clock is about 10 seconds ahead of true time, and shows are thus being cut. how can i change the clock?

thanks.
jimlau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:50 PM   #2
WhiskeyTango
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post
I have series 4 premiere. the clock is about 10 seconds ahead of true time, and shows are thus being cut. how can i change the clock?

thanks.
What are you basing 'true time' off of? You can't change the clock, it is re-synched every time the Tivo connects.
WhiskeyTango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:55 PM   #3
NashvilleKat
Retired Old Fart
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 647
I would wager the 10 second differential you see is mostly due to a cable company lag. I just checked my TiVoHD's time against my automatic clock and they were within 1 second of each other. I record OTA and cable and always see a 5 to 20 second delay in my local channels coming over cable.
NashvilleKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 04:56 PM   #4
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
You can't go by when a show starts or ends. Those are often off by a bit. Some networks are worse than others.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 06:30 PM   #5
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post
I have series 4 premiere. the clock is about 10 seconds ahead of true time, and shows are thus being cut. how can i change the clock?

thanks.
Force a reconnect on the TiVo. While it runs, force a reconnect on your computer. Then test the time difference.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 07:22 PM   #6
jimlau
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Force a reconnect on the TiVo. While it runs, force a reconnect on your computer. Then test the time difference.
how do I do that?

the time is definitely off. even if it was a cable delay, i would be stuck always adding an extra minute, a pain.
jimlau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 08:03 PM   #7
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post
how do I do that?

the time is definitely off. even if it was a cable delay, i would be stuck always adding an extra minute, a pain.
TIVO Central->Setting & Messages->Settings=>Network & Phone->Connect to the TiVo Service Now. It takes about 5 minutes.

Windows 7->Change time & date settings...-->Internet Time->Change Settings->Update Now. Repeat "update now" until it works.

Any changes after this are clock drift. I can't fix that.
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:49 AM   #8
pmiranda
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimlau View Post
how do I do that?

the time is definitely off. even if it was a cable delay, i would be stuck always adding an extra minute, a pain.
At least half the shows I watch either run late or are actually longer by a whole minute because of the (for me) outdated assumption that it will hook you into watching the next show. So I pad almost everything by a minute on the end and sometimes miss the first few seconds of show when there's a conflict.
__________________
- Sony S1 from 2001 with CacheCard+Ethernet
- Series 3 1TB, now with new power supply!
- Premiere
pmiranda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:23 AM   #9
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Underlying issue?

If your Tivo's clock is off by 10 minutes, that means it hasn't connected to the TiVo Service in quite awhile.

You might want to be investigating why that is not happening.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:55 AM   #10
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmiranda View Post
At least half the shows I watch either run late or are actually longer by a whole minute because of the (for me) outdated assumption that it will hook you into watching the next show. So I pad almost everything by a minute on the end and sometimes miss the first few seconds of show when there's a conflict.
With my new Roamio I now pad all new season passes with a minute at the beginning and end. (Slowly adding that to most of my older season passes also.) I have not run into any conflicts yet. Six tuners is great!
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:00 AM   #11
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
Some minor trivia with time, the most common time source people use now is GPS based however UTC and NIST (which is the "National Institute of Standards and Technology") have the official clocks, these clocks are I believe 16 seconds BEHIND the GPS clocks due to leap seconds.

The earth is slowing down (I think somebody wanted to get off) so we need to adjust the clocks.

-TL
Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:07 AM   #12
NashvilleKat
Retired Old Fart
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
If your Tivo's clock is off by 10 minutes, that means it hasn't connected to the TiVo Service in quite awhile.

You might want to be investigating why that is not happening.
Seconds not minutes.
NashvilleKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:08 AM   #13
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Time_Lord View Post
Some minor trivia with time, the most common time source people use now is GPS based however UTC and NIST (which is the "National Institute of Standards and Technology") have the official clocks, these clocks are I believe 16 seconds BEHIND the GPS clocks due to leap seconds.

The earth is slowing down (I think somebody wanted to get off) so we need to adjust the clocks.

-TL
So which is correct?

I thought I read that the NIST adjusted their clocks to compensate.

Last edited by waynomo : 03-27-2014 at 11:52 AM.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:17 AM   #14
tatergator1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 943
http://www.nist.gov/pml/div688/utcnist.cfm

Quote:
The Global Positioning System (GPS) is a constellation of satellites each carrying multiple atomic clocks. The time on each satellite is derived by steering the on-board atomic clocks to the time scale at the GPS Master Control Station, which is monitored and compared to UTC(USNO). Since GPS time does not adjust for leap seconds, it is ahead of UTC(USNO) by the integer number of leap seconds that have occurred since January 6, 1980 plus or minus a small number of nanoseconds. However, the time offset from UTC is contained in the GPS broadcast message and is usually applied automatically by GPS receivers.
So, UTC/NIST is the "true" time, but most GPS receivers automatically apply the UTC offset to GPS time so you're still seeing UTC on your GPS device.
tatergator1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 11:23 AM   #15
Time_Lord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
http://www.nist.gov/pml/div688/utcnist.cfm



So, UTC/NIST is the "true" time, but most GPS receivers automatically apply the UTC offset to GPS time so you're still seeing UTC on your GPS device.
Yes and no, the GPS is applying your offset to UTC, however it is not accounting for leap seconds so the time displayed is not true UTC.

See this page http://www.leapsecond.com/java/gpsclock.htm of course the clock shown is based upon your computer's clock but it does show the time differences between the different standards.
Time_Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 12:22 PM   #16
Teeps
Registered User
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 995
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
You can't go by when a show starts or ends. Those are often off by a bit. Some networks are worse than others.
Yep, they do that on purpose.
Just to mess with us DVR users.
Teeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 07:01 AM   #17
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleKat View Post
Seconds not minutes.
D'oh!
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 12:25 PM   #18
truman861
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 88
I have had this same problem for years and years, the problem lies with your tv provider and i can say that with certainty after researching this like you wouldnt believe as it aggrivated the crap out of me.
I also have a roamio and pad my stuff by a min at the end, exception is where there is two episodes back to back - example pawn stars, storage wars etc and it auto pads for me which is really cool.
Sorry, theres not really a better way to resolve.
truman861 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 01:50 PM   #19
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,462
Suddenly, just over the last week or less, I have noticed that my Tivo time is about 15 seconds behind. It hasn't had any adverse effect on anything, but it just seems odd. Maybe it will adjust itself, so I haven't worried about it.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 03:46 PM   #20
JoeKustra
Cable only
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ashland, PA 17921 TCD746320/500
Posts: 331
How is the clock set?
JoeKustra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 10:16 PM   #21
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkster View Post
Suddenly, just over the last week or less, I have noticed that my Tivo time is about 15 seconds behind. It hasn't had any adverse effect on anything, but it just seems odd. Maybe it will adjust itself, so I haven't worried about it.
How can you tell what the time is on your TiVo to 15 seconds?
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:09 AM   #22
steve614
what ru lookin at?
 
steve614's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 10,722
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
How is the clock set?
Any time the Tivo calls in to the Tivo Service to get guide updates, etc., the time is updated.
__________________
The Man Prayer: I'm a man ...... I can change ...... If I have to ...... I guess.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

F*CK CANCER!
steve614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:20 AM   #23
mpnret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynomo View Post
How can you tell what the time is on your TiVo to 15 seconds?
Just watch the time on your TiVo and see when it changes from one minute to the next. Then just compare to one of the many sources available to get accurate time. I use a Casio watch which gets the atomic time signal from Ft. Collins Co. I just checked and the watch and the TiVo are right to the second.
mpnret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:38 AM   #24
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpnret View Post
Just watch the time on your TiVo and see when it changes from one minute to the next. Then just compare to one of the many sources available to get accurate time. I use a Casio watch which gets the atomic time signal from Ft. Collins Co. I just checked and the watch and the TiVo are right to the second.
Thanks for my doh moment!

I have seconds displayed on my mobile phone with an app called Seconds Clock Widget. These days the time at least on my phone is very accurate. It didn't always used to be. Someone mentioned that these days time on our phones is set by GPS. I wonder if that is true.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 11:11 AM   #25
sharkster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NV
Posts: 2,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve614 View Post
Any time the Tivo calls in to the Tivo Service to get guide updates, etc., the time is updated.
Yeah, I noticed that mine corrected yesterday.
sharkster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:47 PM   #26
JohnS-MI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: SE MI
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by tatergator1 View Post
http://www.nist.gov/pml/div688/utcnist.cfm



So, UTC/NIST is the "true" time, but most GPS receivers automatically apply the UTC offset to GPS time so you're still seeing UTC on your GPS device.
Actually, TAI, International Atomic Time, is the "true" time and UTC is offset from it by the total cumulative leap seconds. UTC is discontinuous at leap seconds. GPS time is offset from it by the leap seconds already accumulated at the start of GPS time, but not since.

However, the GPS navigational message includes the GPS to UTC time offset. I have never seen a GPS receiver that does not utilize it. Time zone and DST offsets may be left to the user or also applied automatically.

UTC is designed to tick with the atomic clock but approximate mean solar time on earth (earth rotational time) through leap seconds.
JohnS-MI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 02:59 PM   #27
mpnret
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 127
Wow lots of info about time. All I know is my Casio watch syncs to the atomic clock in Colorado and matches my TiVo to the second and I never pad recordings. Unless it's for some other reason than time.
mpnret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 03:54 PM   #28
rich
Final answer?
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 669
Yeah, lots of my recordings fall about 10 seconds short, especially on certain channels like TLC and Spike. I have just started padding those shows by a minute at the end to compensate. It's frustrating.
rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 05:26 PM   #29
waynomo
My One Time
 
waynomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 6,064
Speaking of NIST...

NIST-F1 is old news. NIST-F2 is the new standard.

How the U.S. Built the World's Most Ridiculously Accurate Atomic Clock

http://www.wired.com/2014/04/nist-atomic-clock/

Throw out that lame old atomic clock that's only accurate to a few tens of quadrillionths of a second. The U.S. has introduced a new atomic clock that is three times more accurate than previous devices.

Atomic clocks are responsible for synchronizing time for much of our technology, including electric power grids, GPS, and the watch on your iPhone. On Apr. 3, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Boulder, Colorado officially launched their newest standard for measuring time using the NIST-F2 atomic clock, which has been under development for more than a decade.
waynomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |