TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Premiere DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2014, 09:06 PM   #1
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 542
Dual USB input

I know that in the past you could not use the TiVo Bluetooth remote and the TiVo ir USB device on the same system, it was either one or the other.

Does anyone know if any of the recent updates have expanded USB support?
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 09:40 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 8,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin Bike View Post
the TiVo ir USB device
The what now?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 07:04 AM   #3
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 542
Tivo has a USB IR adapter: https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/ir-adapter

This allows you to have a tivo in a closed cabinet. But I also use an HDMI repeater to duplicate the tivo signal to another room and have a bluetooth remote. I was not able to use the IR adapter and the bluetooth remote together in the past. I had moved to a rental house during remodeling and now I am going to be setting everything back up today and wanted to know if the recent system updates might have addressed this.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 11:55 AM   #4
PCurry57
Liberal Hippie Chick
 
PCurry57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 191
With the proliferation of low end wifi Android tablets why not just get a tablet and use the TiVo app to exercise network control
__________________
TiVo Premiere [746320]w/Slide&WD 1TB ext{Lifetime}
TiVo Premiere [746500]w/WD 1TB ext
Motorola SB6141/ASUS RT-AC66R/DLink DAP-1522 as gigabit switch (wireless disabled)
PCurry57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2014, 12:45 PM   #5
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 754
Can't say on the premiere but on the Roamio, I have used the new slide dongle with the slide pro and the regular remote stays mated. Of course this is the newer RF remote and I'm not using IR. Same for the Mini.
__________________
NEW TiVo Roamio basic for sale PM me for details!
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 03:07 AM   #6
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin Bike View Post
Can you check the USB ID and/or chipset for this?
__________________
Premiere + Logitech Revue
on Comcast-CableCard + OTA
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2014, 03:58 PM   #7
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
It has been confirmed that you can use multiple Slide Pro remotes with a single USB dongle. So if you have a need for multiple remotes without line of sight that might be an option. (albeit expensive)

Edit: The Roamio remote also works with that dongle and is a little cheaper....

https://www.tivo.com/shop/detail/roamio-remote
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 11:20 AM   #8
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 542
OK, I will add that to the list of things that I am working on for the next week. I have 2 sliders and a USB adapter that I can dig out of a huge pile of cables. If I can get 2 working on one premiere I'll be in great shape.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 04:36 PM   #9
Dan203
Super Moderator
 
Dan203's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Nevada
Posts: 24,349
It's only been confirmed to work with the new RF used by the Slide Pro and the Roamio remote. I'm not sure you can have multiple BT Slide remotes on the same TiVo.
__________________
Dan Haddix
Super Moderator
Developer for VideoReDo
Dan203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2014, 10:31 PM   #10
Austin Bike
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 542
Confirmed that bluetooth and USB IR will not work together.

Cable company is bringing me a tivo on monday as part of a new promo, so we will see what they bring and start over.
Austin Bike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 06:31 AM   #11
telemark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 444
On a base Roamio, the max I could get working at once was 4 things:
IR remote via on-board
RF remote via on-board
Bluetooth Slide via USB Dongle
Wired USB keyboard

What never worked no matter how hard I tried, was 2 wired USB keyboards.

Doesn't make much sense.
telemark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |