TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 06-16-2014, 06:12 PM   #1
wilson_c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
HDMI switches that work with Roamio Plus

I recently purchased a Roamio Plus to replace my dying S3 (intermittent HD problems). I thought I'd be able to just swap it into my existing configuration and keep going, but no such luck.

I have my source devices all going through a 4 x 2 HDMI matrix switch so I can route any of them to one of two TVs and it has never been a problem. It has worked with every device I've connected, including my S3 Tivo, for the past 3 years. The Roamio Plus is the first device that refuses to send signal through the switch to either TV. I can successfully directly connect the Roamio Plus to either TV and I have eliminated particular cables and ports on the switch as the culprits.

Has anyone found an HDMI matrix switch with at least 4 inputs (5 or 6 would be even better!) and at least 2 outputs that plays nice with the Roamio? It seems like the problem may relate to particular HDMI specs or EDID settings, but I'd really like input from a Roamio owner who has had reliable success before I just start buying devices hoping they will work.

Chris
wilson_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 07:12 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 4,547
HDCP may play a role here.
__________________
TiVo HD 1TB (157 HD Hrs, PLS, "S3HD")
Roamio, Oh Roamio!

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 11:34 AM   #3
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 716
If you already have a hdmi switch, try a ViewHD hdmi splitter. Those are known to solve most hdmi issues, search Amazon.com for them, a simple 2 port splitter model should work, put one for the output to the existing input of your hdmi switch and you should be fine.
__________________
NEW TiVo Roamio basic for sale PM me for details!
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 01:27 PM   #4
A J Ricaud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hacienda Heights, CA (Los Angeles County)
Posts: 1,060
I am using one of these to feed a local TV and one in a bedroom about 30 ft. away from a basic:
http://www.bestlinknetware.com/Product/110509

If a 4X4 is overkill they also have a 4X2: http://www.bestlinknetware.com/Product/110510

The 4X4 I am using replaced a 4X2 from Monoprice that would not work properly in the bedroom. Surprising, since I've always used/liked their products in the past.
A J Ricaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:29 AM   #5
mcharkowski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Epping, NH
Posts: 47
I'm using a Monoprice one, but it's not a matrix. What I've found with the MonoPrice stuff in the past is if the version I have has compatibility issues, if I upgrade to the latest version compatibility issues go away. While it sucks that there's no fw upgrade path, at monoprice's prices, you can afford to upgrade every once in a while.
mcharkowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 10:25 PM   #6
wilson_c
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
This - more or less - did the trick for me. I ordered 3 different Monoprice matrix switches as well as the recommended BestLinkNetware switch and an HDTVSupply 4x4 matrix. Then I started with the cheapest and moved upwards until one worked. The Monoprice 5312 (aka the HDX-402e) worked fine and actually handshakes much more quickly than my old switch. I returned the other 4 switches. Thanks to everyone who offered suggestions!
wilson_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |