TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2009, 09:26 AM   #1
jacksonian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 252
Lost SDV channels on 2 S3's at same time

I have TWC in Greensboro, NC and have had 2 S3's hooked up to tuning adapters for the past few months (was the first in the Triad to get one). I've had problems randomly/intermittently losing some SDV channels but could usually get them back with a power cycle.

But I went on vacation and came back to find that the house had suffered an electrical storm. A tree in the yard got hit by lightning. It ran into the house via the invisible dog fence and blew the power transformer on it even though it was hooked to a surge protector. My wireless router got hit and knocked out a couple of ethernet ports (but continued to work wirelessly) and my Control4 home automation controller is scrambled (not dead, powers on normally, but some commands are gibberish).

Well, I *think* at the same time, not sure since I was gone, I lost ALL of my SDV channels on both S3's. Can't get any of them. But all my other channels work fine, it's specific to SDV channels.

TWC came out yesterday. The tech says everything on their side is fine, TA's, CC's, etc...but he got on the phone with TiVo support. TiVo thinks their side is fine and that it's the TA's. TiVo guy actually said he had no problem replacing the S3's but didn't want to do that unless we knew the TA's were good.

Anyone have any thoughts? Seems to me that if it's specific to SDV channels that it's a problem with the TA's. Perhaps the lightning scrambled them too? Our neighbors lost their TWC boxes in the lightning storm.
jacksonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 07:06 AM   #2
jacksonian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 252
I have the solution to my own problem. I had been trying to reset my system by power cycling both the TiVo and TA's, but that wasn't working. Turns out that I didn't need to power cycle the TiVo and there's a specific way to power cycle the TA (at least the Cisco TA with TWC).

Unplug the USB and power to the TA. Wait a few minutes. Plug only the power cord back into the TA and wait for it to completely lock back in with a solid green light (Cisco). Then plug the USB back in.

That got all my SDV channels back on both sets immediately.
jacksonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 10:30 PM   #3
Stuckeyboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 61
Just wanted to say thank you to Jacksonian. I had lost all SDV channels on two TiVo's and TWC was completely stumped. I cycled the Tuning Adapters as described and service was restored.
__________________
.: Stuckeyboss :.
Stuckeyboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 08:04 AM   #4
jacksonian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuckeyboss View Post
Just wanted to say thank you to Jacksonian. I had lost all SDV channels on two TiVo's and TWC was completely stumped. I cycled the Tuning Adapters as described and service was restored.
Happy I could help. If you get stuck and the TWC person doesn't know how to help, ask to be transferred to the CableCard support desk, or call them directly 866-532-2598. They really are the only ones with the knowledge to deal with any TiVo, CableCard, Tuning Adapter problems. The regular reps just don't know what you're talking about (not their fault, just beyond their expertise).
jacksonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 12:59 PM   #5
dlfl
Cranky old novice
 
dlfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 5,996
And sometimes you also have to restart the Tivo in this situation to get all the SDV channels back.
__________________

"It must be swell to be so perfect and odor-free" -- Del Griffith


VideoReDo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

pyTivo users: Try
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dlfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |