TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Roamio DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 04-21-2014, 04:13 PM   #1
pwashburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
MoCA bridge for Roamio basic

Looking at the Roamio basic (I'm using an antenna rather than cable).
Want to connect a Mini for another TV in the house. It would use the existing coax between where the Roamio will be located and where the other TV and Mini are located.

The specs for the Roamio basic says
Coax/MoCA bridge Requires adaptor

What kind/where do you get the appropriate adaptor?
It will be a dedicated coax just between the Roamio and the Mini.
It's not feasible to pull a Ethernet cable between the two and the documentation suggests that a WiFi network isn't up to the task.
pwashburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 04:44 PM   #2
pwashburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Figured out a little more
The Roamio basic will connect via Ethernet to my home router.
I found the MOCA adaptor in the Tivo Store. It also connects to the router.
The coax to my future Mini box will connect to the output of the MOCA adaptor.
Seems pretty straight forward.

Anyone have a MOCA network working off their Roamio basic that way?
Anyone try putting a small 4 port Ethernet switch/router in the middle of that connection?
I could avoid another long Ethernet run if I could put a switch/router in the middle.

Roamio basic to 4 port Ethernet switch
Ethernet switch to home router for Internet connectivity for the Roamio
Ethernet switch to MOCA adaptor for the Mini.

Or am I getting to fancy?
pwashburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 05:11 PM   #3
rainwater
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,927
The TiVo store actually has the one of the best prices you will find for a MoCA bridge. You may also want to get a MoCA filter to put at the entrance to your coax into the house to keep it from leaking out to neighbors.

If you can connect your Roamio through ethernet directly to the router, then it should work great.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 06:13 PM   #4
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by pwashburn View Post
Figured out a little more
The Roamio basic will connect via Ethernet to my home router.
I found the MOCA adaptor in the Tivo Store. It also connects to the router.
The coax to my future Mini box will connect to the output of the MOCA adaptor.
Seems pretty straight forward.

Anyone have a MOCA network working off their Roamio basic that way?
Anyone try putting a small 4 port Ethernet switch/router in the middle of that connection?
I could avoid another long Ethernet run if I could put a switch/router in the middle.

Roamio basic to 4 port Ethernet switch
Ethernet switch to home router for Internet connectivity for the Roamio
Ethernet switch to MOCA adaptor for the Mini.

Or am I getting to fancy?

The MoCA adapter will connect to your router and cable modem (if you are using a cable modem) as shown below in the first pic.

The Mini shouldn't use the output from the moca adapter. It'd just need the coax coming from the wall already.

If you don't want a long ethernet run from the Roamio to the router, you could alternatively install a second moca adapter behind the Tivo, as shown in the second pic. The choice is yours though.





Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 04-21-2014 at 06:22 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 01:53 PM   #5
pwashburn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Thanks everyone. I see how to connect everything.

Final question: The Roamio basic CAN communicate over a MOCA network to a Mini?
I saw somewhere when looking here that the Roamio basic didn't have MOCA network options in its setup menus.
pwashburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 02:24 PM   #6
BigJimOutlaw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,388
Right, the basic Roamio itself doesn't have built-in MoCA support or have MoCA options in its menus, but it can connect to a MoCA network with the use of an external adapter as shown above (pic #2) if you'd rather not use a long ethernet run. The Roamio will show up as using ethernet in the Settings menu.

If you use an ethernet run for the Roamio, the Roamio and Mini will see each other as long as the moca adapter in pic #1 is connected.

Last edited by BigJimOutlaw : 04-22-2014 at 02:30 PM.
BigJimOutlaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |