TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Help Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2014, 03:38 PM   #1
BH9244
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 90
Random ReStarts on Tivo Elite

My Tivo Elite 2TB unit has recently started rebooting without prompt several times a day, doesn't seem to occur in conjunction with any particular activity or action oftentimes while viewing live TV it will re-boot without warning. Wondering if this a sign of impending Hard Drive Failure. Anyone experience this or have suggestions to troubleshoot.. Thanks..
BH9244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 03:48 PM   #2
eboydog
Just TiVo'ing.....
 
eboydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 904
Might try be the drive since the power supply and hard drive are usually the first to go bad.

That or your Elite discovered the Tivo has a new series 5 dvr available and the "time to upgrade protocol" code buried deep inside the Tivo Elite was triggered?
__________________
TiVo Roamio Pro
TiVo Roamio Plus (3tb)
TiVo Mini (three)
TiVo Premiere

eboydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 03:57 PM   #3
BH9244
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 90
I have several WD 2TB EZRX drives available anyone know if this is a usable drive in the Tivo Elite , figure I will make a clone copy in any event.
BH9244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 12:53 AM   #4
MHunter1
TiVo Bug Hunter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 196
Wait it out

Quote:
Originally Posted by BH9244 View Post
My TiVo Elite has recently started rebooting without prompt several times a day
Both of my Elite/XL4's have been randomly crashing & rebooting as if TiVo's servers are sending them bad data. Other XL4 users have reported it too. Might have to just wait it out as TiVo customer service fields enough complaints and rolls out a fix.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...3#post10011663
MHunter1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2014, 09:35 AM   #5
BH9244
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 90
Another helpful userwho was experiencing identical issues with his Elite units suggested that this was a bad data issue and not a disk failure, his workaround was to unplug the network cable and manually do updates periodically, I used this successfully for a couple weeks and during that time not once did the unit reboot. I have since heard from that user that Tivo has acknowledged the issue and corrected it, I have plugged back in and all has been stable so far.

Thanks MHunter1 !!

Last edited by BH9244 : 03-24-2014 at 09:36 AM. Reason: add text
BH9244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump




Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Advertisements

TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media

(C) 2013 Magenium Solutions - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 AM.
OUR NETWORK: MyOpenRouter | TechLore | SansaCommunity | RoboCommunity | MediaSmart Home | Explore3DTV | Dijit Community | DVR Playground |